An Envelope Mini-album tutorial!

Well hi everyone!  I know I just had a project up on CropChocolate on Friday and here I am again!  That Amber is such a slave driver! 😉  It’s been a fun month on the Design team and I can’t wait for you all to see what the team has in store.  I know that I will have a lot of new projects to try out.  So, let’s get the October fun started!

Photos on one side and journaling/another photo on the back

This month, we have all been working on mini-albums.  You might remember that a couple of weeks ago, I posted a link on how to make envelopes – well, now you can see why!  I decided to play around with envelopes for a little “Auntie brag book” for my sister-in-law.  I recently picked up some beautiful My Mind’s Eye Quite Contrary (Little Boy Blue) paper from CropChocolate, and I loved the idea of playing around with the theme “Guess hooooo loves you?” It’s a super simple project (you could even recycle envelopes you already have if you don’t want to make your own) and the results are really pretty cute!  A little paper, adhesive and ribbon and you are all set!  Give it a whirl and let me know what you think! UPDATE – the YouTube video was removed by the company it was designed for. Please see the written instructions below. I will try to create a new video for his tutorial soon.

Written Instructions:
Materials:
MME QuiteContrary Little Boy Blue paper pack
Adhesive
Ribbon for pull (optional)
Instructions:
To create the envelope:
1. Cut a 12X12 sheet of double sided paper down to a 10X10 sheet of paper. Fold into an envelope (click here for a tutorial on how to create an envelope)
2.  Repeat step 1 for 2-3 more envelopes.

The could make a cute wall hanging as well!

3.  Lay the envelopes down and place fold flap (the part of the envelope that usually folds over a card) on the next envelope. You can either place the flap behind the envelope above it or on top of the envelope above it.  This will create different effects.  Play a bit with the folds and see how your album will close.  You may find that placing the flap on top of the envelope creates a mini-album that is easier to fold, especially with thicker paper.

4.  Using an adhesive, run a strip along the bottom edge of the flap and secure to the envelope on top of it.  Repeat with each of the envelopes.
To create your album pages:
1.  Cut 4 pieces of double sided cardstock at 5″X7″.
2. Punch a hole at the top of each sheet and secure a piece of ribbon that will act as a pull.
3. Attach a photo and/or embellishment to each side of your 5″X7″ sheets of paper. On some of my pages, I used one side for jounraling and the other side for a photo.
4.  Slip the pages inside the envelopes.
Embellish your mini-album cover and closures.  I use the theme “Guess hoooooo loves you?” but you could create any number of themes with this idea.  What paper packs do you have for CC that you could use for a project like this one?

6 thoughts on “An Envelope Mini-album tutorial!

  1. Hi!! I really love ur envelope idea, super cute, im thinking presenta for the fam with this!! Only one thing… Ur video is private n i will love to see it if u dont have a problem with it. Thanks so much for sharing! Im inspired.

Leave a comment