Puddle Hunting!

I am not sure if I have ever shared the story of how I got hooked on crafty things here on Scrappy Canuck, but today’s project is directly related, so I thought I would let you all in on my secret.

Finding this stamp reminded me to capture a memory of my daughter! I love how it helps tell the story of the layout!

A few years ago, my parents went on holidays out to beautiful British Columbia and came back with a pretty little butterfly stamp and purple ink combo from a company called Old Island Stamp Company.  Soon after, my mom and I were able to visit the company again when they came to a craft fair here in town, and the tradition of picking up a new stamp every Christmas began.

Recently, I came across another great Canadian stamp company called Kraftin’ Kimmie Stamps.  As I was looking through the cute selection of stamps, I came across one of a little girl dancing in puddles by artist Cheryl Alger.  I was immediately reminded of my oldest daughter, and a tradition we started this last year of “puddle hunting”.

I love her little 3D bow - achieved by layering the stamped image. But nothing beats a pair of shiny black shoes! Yahoo Glossy Accents!

She loves splashing in water of any kind, so when it rains, we always put on her rain boots and go hunting!

Seeing this stamp inspired me to document those fun times I had this year with her and to find a way to work the stamp into the scrapbook page.  I often leave my stamping to cards, so it was fun to pull out my watercolours and find a way to make the stamp help tell the story of the layout.  Together with my favourite Echo Park paper collection called “Little Girl”, I have to admit that this layout really has a special place in my heart.

So I am curious – when I look at galleries for stamp companies, more often than not, I find mostly examples of cards.  How many of you incorporate stamping into your layouts on a regular basis?

6 thoughts on “Puddle Hunting!

  1. Hi! I stamp on my layouts. I started stamping through a Stampin’ Up! home part, back in 1996 and I’ve been hooked ever since. I have tons of rubber stamps, and now the Cricut and the two work so well together. I make cards, tags, gifts, house decor, bulletin boards, layouts, etc. It’s all fun. Love the puddle hunting story, very cute.

  2. Oh, I just LOVE the whole story! But I have to say that even though I enjoyed reading how you started stamping, I ADORE the story of your oldest daughter and her puddle hunting! Brings back memories for me too! This is fabulous and I love the layout. I know the pictures you incorporate on the page will be cherished and great memories for you both in years to come.
    LOVE IT!

    • Cheryl, thank-you so much for coming by and commenting! I actually don’t have a picture of my little gal in her boots yet – I don’t usually set up photo shoots to match layouts 😉 but I will make an exception this time! There is snow in the forecast today, so maybe it will warm-up enough to do some hunting this afternoon! Thank-you for the cute image for this stamp and the inspiration!!

  3. This is such a wonderful story, and I love traditions. I haven’t used stamping in my Scrapbooking, but only because I haven’t scrapbooked since I got hooked on card making. That said, when I finally get my Mojo going again with scrapping, I do plan to incorporate them. This is an incredible memory, you’ve created with this page.

    • Shirley, I can relate to being hooked on card making! I think I have done 7 since last week! I seem to go on card making kicks ever now and again. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment – I am glad you liked both the story and the layout!

Leave a comment