Sending out a little thanks

Both the cupcake and "thanks" are free digis from Paper Smooches

Last month while travelling in B.C., we were lucky enough to be able to stay one night at a beautiful camp with family of a friend.  Since then, I have been meaning to send them a card for their hospitality, so today was the day to put one together so it could head out into the hands of our happy postal workers today.

I have to admit that it wasn’t until recently that I heard of something called “digis”.  Digis are digital stamps that you can use on projects – just print and go (think “clipart” that you can colour)!  What I didn’t realize was that there were also free digis out there – in fact, many stamp companies offer free digis that also compliment regular stamps.

I love the simple lines on these stamps! They pop right off the page!

One company I came across that offers both regular stamps and some free digis is called Paper Smooches.  I actually have a confession to make – while I was on the hunt for free stamps, I did end up ordering a set of their regular stamps too!  But while I anxiously wait for them to arrive (sometimes I hate cross border shopping), I thought I would give the whole digi thing a whirl.  I loved this cute cupcake and “thanks” sentiment and teamed them up for this creation.  I actually used 3 copies of the cupcake digi to achieve a layered effect on the image…one layer for the wrapper; the next for the icing; and the last for the cherry. With a bit of felt coloring, watercolour painting and Making Memories Just Chillin’ Girl ribbon, I think this card is pretty sweet! 😉

And if you like Paper Smooches too, you need to check out the “Sparks Challenge“.  It was actually the picture for the October 20-Nov. 2 challenge that inspired this card – in this case, the shapes of the stamp I chose and the layout of the card!  It’s a fun way to get inspired to try something new!

THANKS to all of you for stopping by today! 😉

9 thoughts on “Sending out a little thanks

  1. This is a sweet thank you card (excuse the pun :)) – I really like the way you framed the centre panel with the broken lines. Thanks so much for joining at Paper Smooches SPARKS challenge 🙂

    • Thank-you for coming by to check it out! I have to admit that I have only recently become brave enough to doodle on my layouts and cards, but it is a fun way to embellish! I’m glad it framed the stamp – just what I was trying to do!

  2. Thank-you Ursula – I don’t usually pick my ribbon first, but I loved the colours on this one so I was eager to use it for the card. It made the colour choices for the stamp so easy!! I appreciate the comments!

    • Savannah – thank-you!!! It was a lot of fun to do the challenge. I haven’t done many of them in the past, but I love Paper Smooches so I thought – why not?! I appreciate the comments!

Leave a Reply

