Be Sparkly!

Sparkly-closedI am so excited to share with you a new layout I created this last week with the new Vintage Collector collection from DCWV (available now at Michaels even up here in Canada- I know, I checked! :)) This is a fun new collection of embellishments and a variety of paper stacks (including fabric papers and matt stacks) that all coordinate with the awesome Vintage Collector stack.  I have actually used this stack before for projects (including this fun card), and it is one of my favourites!  The addition of all the other prudcts to this collection has just made it that much more fun to work with!

The layout I am featuring today is a picture of my oldest little gal when she received her first big girl ring (made by her dad who happens to be an awesome goldsmith – I think every girls should have a dad who is a goldsmith, don’t you?) I thought the “Be Sparkly” tag was a perfect title for this layouts theme – and pretty darn cute as well!  I simply cut it out of the Vintage Collector stack.

I actually wanted to add a few extra pictures and some hidden journaling to the layout (you know I love my interactive layout) so I actually tried something a bit new for me.  Instead of just folding up some paper for the flap, I actually just used one of the coordinating card bases for the collection as the matt for the pictures.

Sparkly-open

This is the “open” view!  With a little paper tab that I added, it just flips open like a card would to show off a few extra elements.

Speaking of extra elements, you know that I am a bit of a braddict, so I was tickled to see some beautiful brads and rhinestones to add to my projects in a variety of sizes!

Sparkly-brads

Sparkly-bottle-cap

I also love the bottle cap embellishments (this one is just fussy cut from the paper stack, but there are adhesive 3D versions available as part of the collection), and there are some really fun stamps as part of the collection too.  I used one behind the layers of paper to add just a bit more interest on the paper.

Sparkly-angledI will have a number of other projects to show you with this collection in the new couple of weeks.  I really haven’t been able to put it down, so I have lots to share!

In the meantime, if you are in an area of bad weather today over on the east coast of Canada and the US, or in the UK, stay warm and stay safe!  Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Be Sparkly!

Leave a comment