Beating the heat – Trendy Twine style!!

It is Krazy for Kraft month at Trendy Twine, and since the theme for this month’s challenge is “beach”, I couldn’t help but play with some beach hats that I recently picked up at a great end of season clearance price.  After all, the only thing prettier than a big floppy beach hat, is one embellished with flowers and wrapped in twine!

For this hat, I simply created a flower out of kraft coloured cardstock (with the help of the Cricut Flower Shop cartridge), doodled around the edges and then used the kraft twine to create a loose pompom for the centre.  I added a bit of black embroidery floss to the center just to add a bit of punch!  I love the idea of the pom-pom for the center of a flower – what a fun way to add texture and dimension to the flower!

Since hat number 2 was a bit plain, I had a bit more fun with the embellishments.  I once again decided to use the twine for the centre of the flowers, but this time I simply took multiple strands and tied then in a knot.  For the largest flower, I used 10 strands of twine, and for the smaller two I used 8.  You could even change the way you attached the tine to the flowers (perhaps with one of the loose ends straight up instead of sideways) to change the look again!

To create the twine about the base of the hat, I simply took three strands and tripled the circumference of the hat.  I twisted the three strands together and wrapped them around the hat, tying of the ends with a little knot and securing in place at four spots with a bit of hot glue.  The create part about this flowers is that they would look just as create on an altered frame, card or any other project that could use a bloom or two!

So, get krafty – umm…I mean crafty!  You still have time to join the monthly challenge at Trendy Twine, so I hope to see your beach themed projects soon!

18 thoughts on “Beating the heat – Trendy Twine style!!

Leave a comment