Up, Up and Away!

I was lucky enough to participate in the most recent May Arts craft challenges, and this time, we were working with the most amazing silk ribbon!  For those of you who are not familiar with their challenge, May Arts actually posts some ribbon and asks for project ideas to be submitted.  They then choose 25 of the ideas and send out ribbon to each (yes – free ribbon!!).  Each participant then creates their project, and voila, some winners are chosen.  It’s a really fun and unique challenge process, and although this was only my second time participating, I would highly recommend throwing your hat in the ring!

Anyway, when I saw the silk ribbon, the colours and texture reminded me of something “airy”, so I immediately thought of hot air balloons.  I decided to tackle a paper mache project and find a way to create a hanging piece for my daughter’s room.  The hot air balloon shape was created by forming the paper mache around a balloon, and since I knew it would be covered with paper as a final step, I only did two layers of the paper mache.  To add the colour and patterns, I simply divided each balloon shape into four somewhat even parts, and then covered each section with 1/2″ circles, starting from the bottom of each section and working upwards so each row of circles overlapped the one underneath.  The baskets were simply a free hand shape that I created to mimic the proportions of a flower pot we had in the house, and then were attached to the balloons with the ribbon.  Unlike real hot air balloons that are symetrical, mine, quite frankly, are not.  So, attaching the ribbons so that the baskets hang straight took a bit of fiddling, but I like the slightly “askew” look.  I left the ends of the ribbon hanging just add a bit more movement and life to the pieces.

I have a confession to make though…this is not exactly what I had envisioned.  I actually wanted to include pictures of family in the piece so they would be hovering up with the balloons watching over the girls.  One idea was to have picture hanging from the bottom of each basket, and the other was to have the pictures actually fussy cut and inside the basket so it looks like each person is floating the in balloon.  I  think I am still going to add them in…but what do you think?  I would love to hear your thoughts!

Well, keep your fingers crossed for me for a top ten finish!  🙂  Thanks for stopping by!

 

10 thoughts on “Up, Up and Away!

  1. These are marvelous! So creative and beautiful! I tell you – you rock!!! 🙂 These are fabulous as they are – with or without people photos!

  2. The hot air balloons are fabulous. If you really want to incorporate photos, I would adhere them to the outside of the box. I would do black and white photos though so that they don’t take away from the hot air balloons which are exquisite!

  3. These are so cute . . . with or without photos. It looks like it took a lot of time to put together. If you really want to add pictures, I think fussy cutting pictures for in the basket would look nice . . but so would having thing right on the outside of the basket/box, not hanging underneath. Can’t wait to see what you decide.

  4. I saw your top 10 photo on May Arts newsletter and had to come over to see if you described how you made this… it is fabulous. I am going to try to make one to hang in a corner of my art studio…awesome, just awesome! TFS…
    Hugs,
    Beth P

Leave a Reply

