A little TuTu-orial

Many of you already know that I have two little girls, so “girlie” projects abound here at ScrappyCanuck Studios.  Well, today is no exception.  My oldest daughter (nicknamed “T.T.”) turned five earlier this month, and she is my dancer extraordinaire! So it seemed fitting to have “T.T’s Tutu Birthday party” this year, and I have some fun projects and even a tutu-orial for you!

Tutu-cake-closeup-2

When I had the chance to be a part of the final round for May Arts Design Team call, I immediately knew that I wanted to play with some of the beautiful new tulle that is available in three different widths and all sorts of pretty colours! So let’s get started with a little tutorial to show you an easy technique to create a faux tutu!

(Can you tell that I had a head cold??!! ;))

This is a great, easy technique that you could use in all sorts of ways!

Tutu-pocprn-closeup

Tutu-popcorn-double

…like some fun tutu treat containers filled with white chocolate popcorn (each container used approximately 3 yards of tulle)!

Tutu-cake-angled

Tutu-cake-closeup

…or even around a simple fondant cake to add dimension and texture (and to hide a variety of decorating boo-boos).

Once I get my hands on some more of this gorgeous tulle, I think I’ll make T.T. a little “tutu” to wear around her bun!  And while ballerina-themed projects are a perfect fit for this technique, think about how cute this would be with fairies and even princess decor!

Well, that’s it for me today.  I have a couple of other projects I created for the party that I’ll share with you next week (click here for a link). I hope you’ll come back to check them out!

Thanks for stopping by!

May Arts Ribbon used in projects:

 

 

10 thoughts on “A little TuTu-orial

  1. Oh my seriously Karen…you never cease to amaze me with your crafty creations and this is no exception…wish I had a little girl who could appreciate these, as my son sure wouldn’t ! Lovely creations and great tutorial (as always). Thanks for sharing.

  2. Your project really caught my eye on the May Arts Blog! Good Luck with the finals…I think you’d be wonderful on that blog as a designer! I’d also like to have the recipe for the white chocolate popcorn if it’s possible! Looks so yummy – especially in the tutu cups!

  3. Pingback: More tutu fun! | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

Leave a comment