My Little Ladies!

This month, the Trendy Twine Design team got to play with Berry Red Twine!  Now, I know in my last post, I told you that one of my favourite things is chocolate, but I have another favourite – ladybugs!  So I thought it might be fun to team up this pretty twine colour with a simple embellishment shape to create a fun accent for a layout!

It is not often that I get a picture of these two little ladies still…

This layout, based on the sketch from DCWV’s July challenge,  was created with the Ciao Bella stack.  I love the combination of pink and red (I remember a time when pink and red together was a big no-no…what were we thinking????!!!). And just for fun, when you flip up the photo, the “true nature” of this photo session with my two daughters is revealed:

…and it doesn’t last long! 🙂

Every little ladybug need some bling!

But let’s get back to those ladybugs!!!  It was really as simple as grabbing some paper, cutting out some wing shapes, applying some adhesive and spiralling the twine (a pair of tweezers comes in handy for those tight corners).  The great thing about this technique is that the combination of paper, adhesive and twine gave me a surface that I could actually mould with my hands as well, so I was able to dome the shape of the ladybug wings to add more dimension!  To add a bit of shine, I topped off the twine with some Glossy Accents and then embedded some brads for the spots.  Voila – some cute ladybugs that would be great on so many different themes for layouts (think picnics, summer layouts, Valentine’s day), and would be a fun focal point on any card!  And think how cute they would be in a variety of different twine colours!

So there you have it – next month, I promise to have another fun tutorial for you featuring another beautiful twine colour from Trendy Twine!  In the meantime, have fun crafting!

 

30 thoughts on “My Little Ladies!

  1. Those ladybug embellishments are cool! But I really came here to say, hello! Congratulations on making the DCWV team! I’m so looking forward to working with you and I’m excited to get started! Awesome blog, talk to you later!!

  2. Pingback: Show & Tell | Using Baker’s Twine on a Scrapbook Layout · Scrapbooking | CraftGossip.com

Leave a comment