Christmas hop

dcwv-eileenhull-bloghop1d-1

Good morning crafty friends!  It is definitely  Christmas “looking” around here at SCS! DCWV layouts, cards and now – pillow boxes!  I am in the Christmas spirit!

pillow-box-all

DCWV has teamed up Eileen Hull this month to share some fun projects, and today I get to be part of the last round of projects to showcase!  When it comes to Christmas, I definitely love to give presents over gift cards, but sometimes, gift cards really do make sense.  So why not cover use a pillow box to house those little treasures (or other little treasures for that matter)?  These pillow boxes were a breeze to create.  I simply used a pattern I found online, traced, cut, scored and folded.  The paper is DCWV’s Christmas Plaid stack, and it’s a beauty (available at JoAnn – the cover image doesn’t do it justice!)!  I love the contrasting colours in this stack! I used a 2″ band of paper for contrast, and then cut some leaf shapes with my Cricut.pillow-box-closeup

And then I grabbed my new Eileen Hull Twist and Style tool and had some fun with some Christmas twine to add as an embellishment.  Okay, this is so cool – I think I have spent more time with the tool trying to figure out the physics of what is happening, but essentially it will create this twisted look not only with twine, string or ribbon, but also with wire!  On this project, it made sense to use something soft, but think of the cool effects you could get on a decor item or for stems of paper flowers.  Or, and my two girls love it too because they can make little friendship bracelets in a jiffy!

pillow-box-single

I am looking forward to tucking these cuties in the tree!

Now, it might be the last day of the hop, but there is still pretty inspiration to be seen!  make sure you pop on over to the DCWV blog to check out the other projects and to leave a comment for your chance to win some goodies!

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Christmas hop

Leave a Reply

