Pumpkin fun

Halloween has become a fun crafting time for me. I am not really into the scary and graphic part of the holiday, but since my littles can along, I have found the cute and even pretty in the holiday as well!  Slowly, more and more Halloween is creeping into my house!

pumpkin-full

So, when I saw the fun Haunted Village kit from Lia Griffith, I thought it was worth a go!  I picked up a craft pumpkin from Michaels (actually two – the first one was too small), and then got to work punching out shapes and gluing them together!

pumpkin-ghost

I added some copper lights in the background to light up the whole display. I raised the base for the house up (I just cut out a round piece of paper and added a bit of flower foam underneath)  so I could hide the switch and battery case underneath…all we need is some dry ice for a foggy look! 😉 pumpkin-bats

And to top it off, I added a bit of white glitter to the top of the pumpkin and some of the bats cutouts that were also in the kit!

No need for a fancy cutting machine or special folding skills – this one is really all about the paper a glue!  And if the idea of putting the display inside the pumpkin is a bit overwhelming, there are three different building and other shapes so you can just set it out on a shelf and create a little town!

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

