Blog Hop

feather-full

Sometimes change is good.  Okay, sometimes a little bit of change is good.  Okay, let’s be honest – I am not a person who typically likes change at all.  But sometimes, change is good.  Like today’s change!

If you have ever visited SCS before, you will know that I love to colour.  So today’s project isn’t all that different from that standpoint.  But what is different is my tool (or rather, tools) of choice.  Typically my colouring happens with stamps with a particular brand of alcohol marker.  Today, my colouring took place with a great colouring image from DCWV (yes, you heard me – DCWV has colouring stacks in their Color and Create series) and a really cool set of markers from Chameleon who generously sent me a set of 5 blue tone pens to play with.  If you haven’t seen these markers before, they are a really cool concept.  Each pen can be used to create a range of tints so you can create all sorts of fun effects.  While I have to admit that I was a little intimidated to give them a go at first, I cannot tell you how easy I found them to work with.

feather-closeup

I played around with creating gradients, texture, depth, highlights and I have to say that I loved every part of the way the image turned out.  Not only are the pens a great tool, but this set of blues is a very pretty range!

At first, my plan was just to use the two tools for some “non-project” colouring fun (sometimes a girl just has to colour for the sake of colouring), but I loved the quote and the way the colouring turned out so much that I mounted the image on some black cardstock, a beautiful patterned piece from the Minty Lace stack and added it to an 8×10″ frame backing.  Simple, clean and I love that the project was never actually meant to be one!  It’s a great reminder of why I craft in the first place.

feather-angled

So, make sure you head on over to both the DCWV and Chameleon blogs for more great projects from both teams!  Talk about eye candy (and maybe a giveaway too).

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “Blog Hop

  1. Blues and feathers are two of my favorite things and you have done a beautiful job showcasing both companies products! I love DCWV products and you can’t go wrong with Chameleon Pens!! TFS!

  2. Your art is wonderful! You did a fabulous job with those markers and I love how you added a mat under the colored page with the black with pearl foil paper from the Minty Lace stack. Great combo!

Leave a Reply

