Old School Valentine

Valentine-angledGood morning crafters!  Today,  I have another project to share with you using a great DCWV stack called Jet Black (available at Jo-Ann).  I have been using this stack a lot in the last few weeks for all things Valentines – from a masculine card to cookie sleeves to treat poppers!  Today, I thought I would share a little shaker card that brought me back to my paper crafting roots!

Now, I have a confession to make –this card was created with just some paper, ribbon, ruler, a good old fashioned craft knife and some adhesive.  I simply figured out my paper sizes, traced the letters on the back and cut them out.  Once I glued on the clear film (which happened to be recycled backing from stickers), I added some foam tape, filled the letters with confetti and I was all done!  No fancy tools needed!

Valentine-closeupNow that is not to say that I didn’t try to create this with fancy tools, but at the end of the day, the ones that were there for me when I needed them were the same ones I was armed with when I first started making cards and paper crafts (I will save you gory details of what went on before I decided to go old school – let’s just say that my cutting machine and I are on the outs right now).

And at the end of the day, it’s fun to know that every part of this card is handmade – right down to the slightly “wonky” letter O!  It may have taken me a bit longer to make, but this little 4 ¼” x 5 ½” card is all me (and DCWV and The Ribbon Resource of course)!  It kind of makes me want to go and cut out a bunch of valentine hearts like I used to when I was a kid – you know, the ones you made by folding the paper in half first!  I think I may have caught the “old school” bug!

Valentine-front

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

