Cardmaker Hop

Good morning crafty friends!  I am so excited for you to be popping by today!  The Ribbon Resource has teamed up on CardMaker‘s Valentine-themed hop today, and there is all sorts of love on the internet today!

Cardmaker-full

Originally, I was going to put together some treat containers, but I decided to tackle a card for two reasons – one is that I haven’t been making a lot of cards lately, but the other is because I wanted to see what I could come up with for a more masculine card.  There are all sorts of pretty paper and cute stamps for Valentine’s Day, but what could I find in my stash that might work for the guys in our lives?

Cardmaker-angled

I love black and white for Valentine’s Day!  I think it provides an awesome contrast to just a pop of red – a heart cutout like I did here or a button or just a bit of bling.  There are all sorts of great graphic black and white papers out there – this one happens to be from one of our partner companies DCWV (the stack is called Jet Black).  And here’s a little tip for you – raid your don’t put away your Christmas-themed paper yet!  You will find all sorts of great red patterned paper that will work for Valentine’s day – some might be filled with candy canes and Santa’s but I guarantee that you will also find some generic reds that will be perfect (like this polka-dotted one that I found).

Cardmaker-bowNow cards usually feel really naked to me without a bow, so I topped this one off with 3/4″ Chevron Twill in black and white. I love this size for cards – I can get a “puffy” look without a huge amount of bulk.  I actually had a tutorial up at The Ribbon Resource on how to tie this bow (it was even with this ribbon – check it out here).


Cardmaker-loop

Now, if you feeling like the bow is a little to “girly”, there are still some great things you can do with the ribbon to add texture!  Off on one side, I actually just looped a piece of the Chevron Twill and glued it in between to pieces of paper I was layering.  It’s a subtle detail, but it breaks apart the predictable lines, adds some texture and definition.  If you are only going with the loops, try two of three up one side of the card!

Well, I will not keep you any longer because you have a lot of hopping to do!  There are giveaways along the way from (like $two $25.00 gift cards to the RR), so make sure to comment and enter where you can!

Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Cardmaker Hop

  1. Pingback: Valentine Sweets | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

  2. Pingback: Old School Valentine | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

Leave a Reply

