Bargain crafts

xmas-hops

Good morning crafty friends! This time of the year can be hard on the pocket book!  But today, the team at May Arts/The Ribbon Resource is sharing some ideas for budget friendly crafts!

Hot-Chocolate-with-cup

I love to give little treats away to my colleagues at work during the Christmas season, but it is important to me that I watch my spending too!  One of the things I realized not too long ago was that by adding a little crafty touch to even the simplest things, little gifts can have a profound effect on how people feel.

Hot-Chocolate-open

Hot-Chocolate-packet

At this time of the year, my family loves hot chocolate.  And it is a “safe gift” – no offending the coffee or tea drinkers! 🙂  Up here in Calgary, these little hot chocolate packages are easily purchased – they are cute too and come in a variety of flavours.  Wrapped in a bit of DCWV paper and topped with a big bold bow made with 3/4″ Black Grosgrain ribbon (QH-4-10), and some 3/8″ mini pompom ribbon in green (SKU: 419-16), this already cute little gift now has a personal touch that I can also use as a card!  And quite frankly, the recipient could also regift the packaging and share the love again!  How’s that for a bargain?  While this gift cost less than $2.00 for me to complete, it would have been even cheaper if I had just used bulk hot chocolate and bagged it myself!  You can even add some marshmallows!

Hot-Chocolate-bow

Hot-Chocolate-pompom

Okay, and just on a side note – this mini pompom ribbon is my new love!  I have to admit that I wasn’t sure about it when I first picked it up, but it is finding it’s way on almost all of my Christmas projects this year!   I see more colors in my future!

Alright – I hope this project has inspired you to add a little bit of a personal touch to gift giving this season!  Make sure you check out what all the other ladies have up on their blogs today – we are all on a budget but having a blast!

And as always, Bethney has a give away on the Ribbon Resource blog for you – so get over there and enter!  Thanks for stopping by!

Hot-Chocolate

Ribbon Resource ribbon used:

3 thoughts on “Bargain crafts

Leave a Reply

