Christmas Fun with the kids!

kids crafts (1)

Good morning everyone!  I am so excited to share today’s project with you! The design team members from May Arts ribbon have been sharing some kid’s crafts with you, and today, I get to share the fun I had with my two girls!

Ornaments-3

One of the traditions we have in our family is to give a Christmas ornament to each family member.  I thought it would be great to mix together some of the things that the three crafty girls in my family love the most into a pretty, colourful and fun ornament. These are really easy to make, even for little hands.  My youngest who is three loves pompoms (but not the glittery ones because they are not soft), while my 5 year old is all about the glitter!  I, on the other hand, am all about the ribbon, and if you’ve ever looked around here at ScrappyCanuck Studios, you will know that May Arts 3/4″ Chevron twill (382-34) is my FAVOURITE!!!!

Kids-craft-process-2 Kids-craft-process-1

We started by adding the pompoms – even the littlest hands got the hang of it really quickly.

Kids-craft-process-3With the help of a piece of paper rolled into a cone, we were able to pour the glitter right in.  Each of my cuties had a different idea of how much glitter would be “just right”, but I just let them have fun with it.  Just be aware that a lot of glitter yields a heavy ornament! 😉

Kids-craft-process-4

 

Finally, we put the tops back on and I tied on some of the Chevron ribbon in different colours.  These are so simple, but I think they will make a bright an playful addition to the tree.  Oh, and be sure to buy quite a few ornaments because two each will simply not be enough! 😉

Ornaments-2 Ornaments-1

There are five more ladies who have fun projects to share with you today, and make sure you stop by and comment for your chance to win.  As always, our generous Ribbon Lady Bethney has a giveaway for you, and you do not want to miss your chance to win!

May Arts product featured:
1. May Arts 3/4″ Chevron twill (382-34)

Other Products:
1. Plastic hollow ornaments with removable tops
2. Pompoms in a variety of sizes (Advice from the three year old: the glittery ones look pretty, but they are not as fun to work with)
3. Glitter (coarse, not fine)

10 thoughts on “Christmas Fun with the kids!

  1. I’ve been looking for gift ideas for my Stampin’ ladies. I’m going to try this one. It is so different and could be left out all year. thanks for the suggestion

  2. I LOVE seeing families CREATE TOGETHER – they are THE BEST OF TIMES!!!
    Your ornaments are PRETTY & FUN Karen, LOVE the chevron bows too 🙂
    THANK YOU for sharing your CREATIVE INSPIRATION and giving me ANOTHER reason to get out my glitter and have some Crafty Christmas time with my nieces & nephews!!!

  3. I couldn’t help but giggle all the way through your post. Not sure if it was because your kiddos are so cute, or the ornaments, or all the fun you allowed them to have, but I wish i could have been in the middle of all the fun!! I miss my boys being little. They grow so fast. It’s great to see you letting yours have so much fun and nourishing their artsy side of the brain 🙂 Darling project, too! I think the pompom look like sugary gumdrops!

Leave a Reply

