Back to School

I know that some students down in the States have been back in school for a couple of weeks now, but here in Alberta, students do not start back until next week.  Having said that, the summer is over for us teachers, and I am in full “Back to School” mode.  So the timing with My Whimsical Little World‘s new Back to School release is perfect timing!

Paola has put together an awesome assortment of “Back to School” images for any type of project you might have up your sleeve.  I started with a card with an educational-themed quote, which I thought would be a great way to encourage a teen or tween in your life to make the most of their experiences this coming year.

girl-full

 

This card was created with a digi called Olivia and I think she is so cute!  I loved colouring up her hair.

My favourite project for this release was a set of cookie treat bags that I thought would be a great surprise in a lunch kit.  These two treat bags use digis called Supplies in a Mug and Alarm Clock.

Cookies-both

These are amazingly easy to make. I simply added the cookies to a sandwich bag and folded over the extra plastic and taping it in place.  I then grabbed some cardstock that was 3″ wide and as long as the diametre of the cookie, and then folded it to create a tent that was 1.5″ wide.  I coloured up my images and fussy cut each, embellished the paper and glued everything in place.  I then added some double sided adhesive to the back inside of the tent and placed the cookie bag on top.  Voila – it’s that easy (maybe this would be a good video tutorial for the coming months)!

Paola has been releasing new images over in her Etsy store every week, so make sure you take the chance to stop by and see what is there!  You might also want to pop by Amanda, Martha and Kimberly’s blogs to see the great projects they created with the release as well!  Thanks for stopping by!

Cookies-single

5 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. LOVE IT! Our boys went back last week. I remember when I was in school we didn’t go back until after Labor day weekend. That was the official END OF SUMMER WEEKEND. Everything is so much different now a days. It’s absolutely DIFFERENT. I would have loved getting that on my first day of school. Thanks for sharing. I think since we’ve missed the first day of school for this. It could be a good little thing to stick in their backpack or lunch bag just to say have a good day. Love the idea.

Leave a Reply

