Flower Tutorial – Pansies (Part 2): Teacher Thank-you

Cup-with-lidEarlier today, I shared a little tutorial I put together on making paper pansies.  If you can cut out a heart shape, you can handle these!  I also wanted to share with you a project that I actually used one of the pansies on – because the only thing more fun than making a paper flower is putting it to good use!

As a school teacher, I am often asked if I actually like receiving homemade appreciation gifts.  My answer is always the same – absolutely!  I truly appreciate any gift (homemade or other) that I receive from the families that I work with!

This year, one of my students noticed that I liked a particular kind of coffee and took some time before school to pick one up for me.  That gesture meant a lot, and I used it as an inspiration for this project.

Cup-fullAs fun as it would be to drop off a cup of coffee one morning (or an empty cup with a little gift card inside), I love the of embellishing the cup with a custom coffee sleeve to give it that “homemade” feel.  To create this one, I simply took an actually sleeve from a coffee shop, opened it up and used it as a template.  I grabbed a piece of paper from DCWV’s Chalk Fun Stack (because really – is there a better stack than this for a teacher?), some of the corrugated stack (because having that air pocketed paper is not only functional but really cute), and then traced the sleeve onto them, leaving one slightly wider than the other so I could create a layered look.

Because I wasn’t actually sure what size the cup would be, I didn’t glue the sleeve together. Instead, I simply waited until I had the cup and then tied a piece of May Arts ribbon the pieces of cut paper it to hold then in place. Finally, I added a little banner sentiment with a chalk pen, and added one of my paper pansies.  It’s like a bouquet of flowers and a cup of coffee wrapped into one!

If you haven’t checked out the tutorial for the flower on this project, I hope you’ll stay and check it out!  Thanks for stopping by today, and pop back soon – I have another flower tutorial in the works!

Cup-with-card

Don’t feel like bringing a cup of coffee? Use the cup as a container for a gift card instead!

 

One thought on “Flower Tutorial – Pansies (Part 2): Teacher Thank-you

Leave a Reply

