Birthday fun – Part 1

My youngest daughter celebrated her third birthday last week so I was busy getting crafty!  In fact, I have so many fun projects to share with you that I thought I would put them into two posts!

When I asked G what kind of cake she would like, she was quick to answer – NEMO!  Now, I was pretty sure that meant a cake decorated with Nemo (as opposed to a fish cake ;)), but you never can tell with three year-olds! 😉  So, I decided to tackle my first ever underwater-themed layer cake and hope for the best.

This cake was completely decorated with modeling chocolate, and given that it was my first attempt at cake decorating, I think it turned out pretty well! It was also a lot of fun to have both of my girls and my hubby help out with the decorations. Modelling chocolate is so easy to work with!

Next up was a project a little more in my comfort zone – an interactive card!

Card-full

I recently saw a tutorial for this pop-up box card on Splitcoast Stampers, although I did decide to change up the dimensions a bit.  I thought this was a fun way to show off a few of these cute stamps from Whimsie Doodles Shellabration set, and would be a great way to keep the Nemo theme without having Disney knocking on my door! 😉

The only thing I don;t love about this card is that there are not many great places to write a message to the recipient.  This time, I decided to use the front panels in the “closed” version…

Card-closed

…but I think next time I will include a pull tab feature instead – stay tuned…I sense a new tutorial on the horizon!

Card-crab

All in all, I really love the way it turned out, and the best part has been the fun that G has had with the card so far!

Well, that’s it for part one!  I have a bunch more project from the party to share tomorrow, all inspired by and pulled together with awesome ribbons from May Arts! I hope you will pop back for some more party fun!  Thanks for stopping by!

Card-fishThis card has been entered into Whimsie Doodles challenge – Seeing Spots! (bubbles count, right?) 

5 thoughts on “Birthday fun – Part 1

  1. Karen, I think you found a new niche…cake decorating. The cake is just so AMAZING!!! And the pop-up card is, too! Once again, you have inspired me to go outside my comfort zone and try something new. Happy Birthday to “G” … and Thank you once again for the inspiration!!!

  2. Pingback: Pop-Up Box Card Tutorial | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

Leave a Reply

