A little Valentine fun!

May Arts project ideas_Page_1Happy Valentine’s day everyone! I am so very excited to share this post with you today – my first as a guest designer for May Arts!  Yup – you heard (read??) me correctly!  I have the honor of designing a few projects for my favourite ribbon company – just put “May Arts” in my search bar, and you will see just how I often I use goodies from this great company!

The other reason I am so excited to share with you today is that today’s project is inspired by my family. Whether you love or hate Valentine’s day, I am of the personal opinion that it’s great to have a day to talk about love and how we show one another we care!

So let’s get to it!  First up is a cupcake stand:
Cupcake-kiteCupcakes-full

This little cupcake stand was a breeze to pull together.  Made out of some cardboard and half of a Pringles container, it was as easy as covering these recycled materials with textured paper, and then wrapping some beautiful ribbon around the edges.


Cupcakes-flower

One of my favorite components is this simple ribbon daisy that adorns one side of the tray – simply five pieces of ribbon with a rounded edge sew together and topped with a button. Easy peasy!

Cupcakes-closeup

And who said that Valentine’s Day has to be all about chocolate and strawberries?  Personally, I think vanilla cupcakes topped with blueberries and a little , satin heart is just as pretty as can be!

Finally, I hit the sewing machine to create a fun ruffled apron.

Apron-full

The grosgrain ribbon made this project a breeze!  Not having to worry about creating and sewing the waist band took at least an hour off of this project.   Oh, and I left lots of extra ribbon so it can tie in the front, because as I realized last night, I cannot tie things behind my back. Who knew?

Apron-closeupSo there you have it – a Valentine’s collection without the roses, rinks, reds, chocolates and strawberries.  So what do you think?  Is it still worthy of the holiday?

Ribbons used:

4 thoughts on “A little Valentine fun!

  1. Pingback: A Ribbonista in the making? | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

Leave a Reply

