Give Love

Frame-frontValentine’s day is around the corner, and although I know it is a commercial holiday designed to make us buy all things pink, red and chocolate, I do think there is value in the message of the day!  Much like Christmas, it’s a chance for us to think about how we can carry the sentiment of this holiday all through the year .

Frame-heartSo, with the new Vintage Collector collection from DCWV (available at your Michaels now) in hand, I decided to make a “Love” themed frame.  This was a wooden frame that I happened to pick up up my local Michaels (these are such a great price), and simply decoupaged it with some wood-grain patterned paper from the 12×12 stack.  I then embellished with everything from paper flowers to 3D stickers to rhinestones from the collection. I even fussy cut a couple of the bottle cap shapes from the patterned paper – although there are some great 3D bottle cap elements in this collection too!

I think my favorite part has to be the little rosettes made with the adhesive fabric paper.

Frame-flowers

These are created simply by cutting strips of the 12X12 adhesive fabric apprximately 3/4″ wide, folding them partially over and then coiling them up, bending the strip back on itself every now and again.  Hmmm – with all the great fabric adhesive papers available from DCWV, maybe this one warrants a video tutorial!

I just love the rustic, yet bright and cheerful look of this collection!  I can honestly say that there isn’t one project I have seen created with it that I haven’t, well…loved!  Appropriate, don’t you think?

Well, hopefully you will get the chance to “Give Love” to those special people in your life today!  And if you love this collection as much as I do, made sure you stop by the DCWV blog or our Pinterest page– there are so many VC projects there to inspire your crafty self! Thanks for stopping by!

Frame-angled

One thought on “Give Love

Leave a Reply

