The Countdown is on!

Santa-front

Okay, let me start by saying that I know there are not 20 days left until Christmas – although, I am thinking that a few extra days would come in handy at this point!  But I did want to take a minute to share the little countdown chalkboard I created this year with some of the cute paper from DCWV’s Jolly Whimsy Stack, and a cute easel chalkboard that I picked up at Michales.

Santa-closeupIf you haven’t seen this stack yet, it is really a lot of fun.  While you will find lots of traditional colours and graphics, you will also find some cute surprises!  The Santa that you see here in the calendar was actually fussy cut from one of the patterned pieces of paper (I used him last month for a mini album too).  He looks complicated to cut, but because the images of this graphic are so clean and smooth, it really is an easy task!  

I also fussy cut the lettering from another page in the stack.  I didn’t end up using the whole saying because I just didn’t have enough space, but I can’t wait to use it all on a layout for some Christmas memories this year.

Santa-long

Well, that’s it for me today!  If all you have left to do for Christmas is countdown, I applaud you!  One of these years I hope to be in your shoes!  In the meantime, I am going to keep counting down the days with my little chalkboard, and slowing crossing off things from my “to do” list as I go along.  Hey, maybe that’s the project I need to do next – a Christmas “To Do” list! 😉  I guess that would be one more thing to add to it!

Thanks for stopping by!

Santa-angled

3 thoughts on “The Countdown is on!

  1. Hi Karen,

    Could I please ask you for your help? I also use wordpress and would like to know how you add a sidebar and also thumbnail images at the bottom of your posts?

    Thank you, Rita Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Hi Rita! Here in WordPress, you have to choose a layout that supports widgets to get the sidebar. If you search for “widgets” in the help section, you should find the instructions you need (that’s what helped me out). All of that functionality is managed through your dashboard (just look for “widgets” under appearance)

      As for the thumbnails at the bottom of posts, I am actually not sure there is an easy way to do that in WordPress like those who create their craft blogs in Blogger. Are you looking to have those thumbnails link to products or previous posts in your own blog?

  2. Love your countdown calendar. Can you tell me the dimensions of the chalkboard? I would love to try one but don’t know what size to start with.

Leave a Reply

