Top of the World – It`s Friday after all!

World-full

It is Fab Friday, and I am so excited to share with you a card with a new digi from Tiddly Inks called “Top of the World“. I wanted to practice working with some deeper colours and creating some starker contrast with my Copics, so I used some paper from the DCWV Kidlet stack as inspiration.

World-closepMy favourite part of colouring this stylish gal was working on her hair.  I used to get so intimidated when colouring long hair, but I have found that it is actually really forgiving.  I start by laying down my lightest colour all over and then work from the strands that are out front to the ones that fall behind.  The ones in the back are the darkest, and as a result, they get the most layers of colours.  In fact, my darkest colour (E18 in this case) is not even used at all on the front few strands, but is actually quite predominate on the strands that are towards the back.  Christy (the artist of Tiddly Inks) actually really helps make the colouring easy by creating all those individual strands in her drawings.  Just think about adding a shadow every place that one piece of hair appears to be on top of another and you`ll be all set to go!

Hopefully, this gal will inspire you to do a little bit of playing or practicing or whatever you want to call it!  Remember, handmade doesn’t have to be perfect!

Thanks for stopping by today!

 World-dimension

One thought on “Top of the World – It`s Friday after all!

  1. Susan’s card was so inspiring. Once I got started I found it difficult to make a one layer card and have it look nice. I had this idea using this LITTLE SNOWMAN from CLEAR DOLLAR STAMPS . I envisioned him being in front of a house. So I cut my card in the shape of a house. My one spot of color is his nose. I used a sentiment from JUST CHILLIN also from CLEAR DOLLAR STAMPS.

Leave a Reply

