Tapping into My Inner Rock Star

Okay, before I started this project, I wasn’t sure that I had even an ounce of rock star inside me.  But maybe, just maybe…

Rock-Star-angled

Awhile ago, I had an idea for embellishing one of the large wooden clothes pegs (clips) that you can find at most of the hobby shops.  I was having a hard time finding them, but my mom actually came across some at Michaels and picked some up for me.  Since then, they have been hanging out (no pun intended) in my craft cupboard, waiting to take the spotlight (okay, that time it was intended).  Well today is the big day!

Rock-Star-empty

Rock-Star-topThe idea for this clip was to create a little home decor project that could hold and display both photos and memorabilia.  I grabbed the Glam Rock stack from DCWV for this project because I loved the music ticket cutouts and all the textures, and thought this would make a great project for the tween or teen in your life!  It’s also such a versatile stack – substitute out the pink patterned papers in this stack from some of the greens and blues and you have a more masculine project too (oh, and perhaps leave off the rose). 😉  This project really is as easy as tracing, cutting and pasting!  And if you like the roses, I do have a tutorial here at ScrappyCanuck Studios that will get you one your way – no special die cuts or cartridges required!

I think my favourite part of the project is actually the little metallic music note embellishment.

Rock-Star-detailThis was actually created with one of the neat Spellbinders Media Mixage products called Square Hatpin bezels.  I simple cut out a music note from my paper stack, added a cute heart shaped rhinestome from DCWV, placed them inside and topped it off with a thick layer of Glossy Accents.  I love the added metal in the project, and I think it does a great job of balancing all the fun things going on up top.

Well, that’s it for me today!  Hopefully this little project will inspire you to find your inner rock star too!  Trust me – it’s fun! 😉

Rock-Star-angled

2 thoughts on “Tapping into My Inner Rock Star

  1. You definitely found your inner “rock star” with this project. I just love all the little details, especially the hat pin…how cool is that?!?! Thanks so much for sharing your amazing talent with us . . . and for being such an inspiration!!!

Leave a Reply

