Rock star

Card-fullglam rockOkay, it’s confession time again!  Today, my post is all about rock n’ roll glam- and this is definitely something I am not (she says while sitting in her p.j.s drinking a cup of tea while writing this post). But when the new stack from DCWV called “Glam Rock” showed up on my doorstep, I knew it was time to channel my inner rock star for a fun project or two.

Today, I thought I would share a card I created with this fun stack.  There are all sort of great textures in this stack, so I decided to create some layered banner pieces to show off some of my favourites.  Cut to different lengths and adhered at different heights, I think it give a bit of a graffiti effect to the card.

Okay, now I know that “bows” are probably not the first thing you think of when I say the words “Glam Rock”, but I love paper bows so I decided to see if I could make one work on this card.  I went for a simple triple layered bow (all you need to do is loop 6 pieces paper at about 1- 1/2″ each, and then adhere one piece on top of the next, slightly overlapping each).  This also gave me the perfect spot to add a bit of the fun DCWV rhinestones for a bit of bling!  I actually decided to use the red rhinestones and add a layer of black on top with an alcohol marker.  Although the rhinestones appear black, you still see the red shine through at different angles – it gives a really fun effect!

Well – there you have it.  One gal’s attempt at rock n’ roll glam! Thanks for stopping by today!

Card-dimension

Leave a Reply

