Sometimes the stamp steals the show

Fairy-cfull

This week, I have been playing with my new Tiddly Inks stamps.  These cute images, by artist Christy Croll are filled with so many fun details that they are so easy to color!  And I love the digital versions because I can print them at so many different sizes (although if you love your rubber stamps, Christy has though for you too).

Fairy-closeupToday, I decided to work with Fairy Sunny Day.  After spending some time with this great stamp and my Copics, I then grabbed my scissors and cut her out, leaving a small white border to help the image pop on the patterned paper from MME that I was planning to use (this collection is “My Girl”).  This also gave me a bit of a border to add a small halo of Copic B11 – may favourite secret ninja trick to really helping an image pop off the page and help it steal the show.  I love using this colour over my greys as it has a brightness to it without being “in your face”. In fact, you almost can’t tell that it’s there.  Hmmm, maybe I should do a post comparing two images before and after this trick and see what you think…

The other fun thing about this image are all the great details, which I had a bunch of fun with!  I ended up adding a little rhinestone to Wryn’s wand, and then some Stickles to her wings.  I also added some liquid pearls (Buttercup) to the middle of the flowers just to create a bit of texture!   It’s a bit hard to see in the pictures, but it really adds a bit of interest to the card as a whole, and gives you even more ways to match the image you coloured with the paper and embellishments that you choose for the card base.

Oh, and yesterday, I mentioned that Tiddly Inks is having a design team call – you know, if you love these images as much as I do, you still have time to enter too!  Although the call is over tonight, there are so many Tiddly Inks images that are digital that you can print them off immediately and still have time to colour them up and create a card base.  What are you waiting for???

Well, this little card is off to my sister-in-laws house, so I better get her off to the mailbox!

Fairy-dimension

Thanks for stopping by today!

431ca-design-call-badge

6 thoughts on “Sometimes the stamp steals the show

  1. I was just looking on the Tiddly Inks blog at my competition for a DT place when I spotted your card and felt I had to come and say wow, wow, wow what a stunning card. I love your layout, the colour scheme you’ve used and especially your colouring technique, which is fabulous. I wish you all the best in your DT entry…good luck. Hugs Janine X

    • Janine – first of all, thank-you for taking the time to come by!!! Second of all, thank-you for taking the time to comment! And finally, thank-you so much for the kind words!!! Good luck to you too – there are AMAZING entries…I’m glad that I do not have to choose! 😉

      Once again, thank-you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

