A stamp that makes me smile!

NL-Fairy-fullHello scrappy friends!

Yesterday, I mentioned that I was trying out a bit of a new technique for me called “No line colouring” so I thought I would share my second attempt with you today! My goal this time was to be a bit more precise in my colouring and work to create a bit more contrast. Practice, practice, practice, right???

NL-Fairy-closeupRecently, while I was sitting in a hallway in Vienna and doing some surfing (more on that story to come), I came across this amazing digital stamp from Tiddly Inks called “Fairy Happy Day”, a new release this month.  This cutie reminded me of my oldest daughter (which immediately made me smile), and I was blown away by the detail in this stamp. I knew Fairy Wryn would be so much fun to colour, and I can’t wait to use her on all sorts of projects!

Since I wanted to give the “no line colouring” another go, I started by recolouring the digital image, and worked on layering the colours with my Copics. As usual, I stared with the skin tones and hair, and worked around the image from there.  I have to admit that I lost a lot of the details in the flowers and probably should have started with them first to create more contrast and “pop”, but I love the softness of this technique for this image and card.  It will be fun to colour her again with the black lines and compare the two!

Okay, now here’s the thing…while I was browsing through Tiddly Inks’ blog, I noticed that they were also having a design team call.  I took a quick look at the entries so far, and they are really amazing – you should have a look!  I have decided to throw my name in the hat, which is probably a long shot given the great applications already and the fact that I only recently found this great company, but I honestly can’t help myself. Christy’s work just makes me smile, so it’s safe to say that helping to promote these images would be easy, fun and a huge honor! If nothing else, I have found a great new company to support, and a fun challenge blog to join!

NL-Fairy-dimension

Well, that’s it for me today!  Thanks for stopping by, and let me know what you think of the “no lines colouring” technique (oh, and wish me luck on the call)!

Materials:

  • Tiddly Inks stamp – Wryn: Fairy Happy Day
  • Doodlebug paper: Fruit Stand
  • Colouring Medium: Copics
  • Fibres – May Arts ribbon

Challenges:

2 thoughts on “A stamp that makes me smile!

Leave a Reply

