Trying something new – no line colouring

NL-Delightful-full

I am so excited to share two new things with you today (well, the truth of the matter is that they are two new things to me, but not necessarily you).

The first is a great stamp company called Tiddly Inks.  If you are a fan of cute, whimsical, detailed stamps, you are sure to find stamps galore at this great store – both digital and rubber stamps! I actually recently came across Tiddly Inks, and fell in love with a bunch of their stamps.  Why?  Well, as usual, a bunch of them reminded me of my two little gals, and that is always a recipe for pocketbook disaster (I even started a wish list)!

NL-Delightful-closeupThe second “new” is a technique a decided to try called “no line colouring“.  The title is a bit deceiving actually – it’s not that you are working with no lines, but the lines you stamp (or recolour in the case of a digital stamp) are a light shade (think tan or light pink or even light blue) and disappear into your ink as you colour.  The result is a neat, soft look to your stamped and coloured image.

So, I decided to try my hand at it using this cute stamp called “Wryn – Hanging Around“, and let me tell you, it taught me many things about myself…like the fact that I am a lazy colourer and rely heavily on my black stamped lines to keep things neat, smooth and sharp.  😉  It also really challenged me to look at the image and think really hard about the layers of shapes – like in this cutie’s hair!

All in all, I think it was a decent first try! I’m looking forward to trying it again and really working to create more contrast in the image!

Oh, and the Tiddly Inks challenge right now happens to be all about summer treats, so I think I’ll throw this one into the mix.  Cherries are one of my favourite summer treats!  Perhaps you can join too?!

NL-Delightful-dimension

Thanks for stopping by, and let me know what you think!

Materials:

  • Tiddly Inks stamp – Wryn: Hanging Around
  • Doodlebug paper: Fruit Stand
  • Colouring Medium: Copics
  • TrendyTwine – Twisted Teal

Challenges:

8 thoughts on “Trying something new – no line colouring

  1. Gorgeous card 🙂 I love the image with no lines ,, beautiful colouring and the cherry paper is FAB 🙂

    thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    luv
    Lols x x x

  2. This is such an adorable card! Your coloring looks so fabulous! I love it! Thanks so much for playing along with us over at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

Leave a Reply

