It’s sketch challenge time!

sketch june

Every month, DCWV hosts a sketch challenge, and whether you are a card maker or scrapper, Erin always has something for you!  Today, I thought I would get in on the fun buy whipping up a layout for inspiration using this awesome sketch from Susan Stringfellow!

I love the simplicity of this sketch, and all the fun details!  I decided to use the sketch as is, without turning it (one of my favourite ways to get the most out of one sketch), and came up with a bright layout that captured an everyday moment in my house – light switch flicking!

Lights-fullAnd just because I had one more photo from this little moment that I just loved, I added a flap for a little hidden surprise.

Lights-open

I used an awesome stack from DCWV called Birthday Wishes for this project.  This stack is filled with all sorts of fun, bright patterns.  Although some of the papers are birthday themed, the majority (like the ones I used for this layout) are not so there is so much you can do with this stack.

Lights-DoodlingIf you like bright and bold, this one IS for YOU!!!

I have to tell you that I am getting a bit braver with my scrapping.  I used to be terrified to hand write or doodle on my layouts.  If I did, I ALWAYS did it in pencil first.  For this one, I actually did all the brown details by hand, without predrawing…that’s right, you heard me – without predrawing!  Now I know so many of you are brave like that, but this was a huge accomplishment for me!  Truth be told – I love the doodling, but not the journaling.  I have a sneaking feeling that no one else is going to care though, so I am going to bite the bullet and not glue a new piece of paper over top! 😉 I think…

Well, that’s it for me today!  Thanks for stopping by, and consider joining us over at DCWV this month for the layout or card sketch challenge (or both)! You could win yourself some awesome new paper!

Lights-dimension

Leave a Reply

