Fun with banners – 30 minutes or less!

Banner shapes are so much fun to work with!  They are so simple to cut (even freehand), and you can layer different sizes on top of each other for an awesome layered look.  You can create fun cards in a really short amount of time!

When I pulled out my Magnolia Way stack from DCWV, you have to know that I was immediately going to fussy cut almost every piece of paper in the stack!  But I stopped myself – even through the paper is full of beautiful flowers and butterflies, I thought I would mix that up with some simple geometric shapes, and banners seemed to fit the bill! My goal was to create a card in 30 minutes or less…sometimes I get really wrapped up in fussy cutting and colouring that my cards seem to take hours.  But quick cards are just as fun, and this one is just that!

Magnolia-Way-card-full

Magnolia-Way-card-closeupOkay, now I couldn’t help myself with the flowers in the bottom corner, but even with that fussy cut, the card was ready to go in about 28 minutes (with most of that time spent fiddling with the bow…one of these days I will master those things)!  The ribbon is a simple white silk from May Arts, and the sentiment was simply hand written – I ran out of time to stamp it! 🙂

So, if you’re in a pinch and need a quick card, or simply want a quick project so you can get to that send of accomplishment  try cutting some banner shapes and layering away!

Thanks for stopping by!

p.s. – I have to admit that I have a bit of a soft spot for this stack – you’ll find one of my projects gracing the back cover!!!  So stay tuned for more!!

Magnolia-Way-card-dimension

5 thoughts on “Fun with banners – 30 minutes or less!

Leave a Reply

