Thank-you SNOW much!

It’s winter time, and we have seen our share of cold and snowy weather here in Calgary this year!  Although I really like winter (it’s a great excuse to curl up and read or craft without feeling guilty that I am not outside enjoying the sunshine), the “gloominess” of this time of the year sometimes get’s me down!  So, given that the challenge this week over at CropChocolate was to include mittens in a project, I thought I would create a winter themed card with colours that I don’t usually associate with winter!  So, out came my Copics and an adorable stamp from Kraftin’ Kimmie, and voila:

Thankyou snow much full

Thank-you-snow-much-closeupThis little cutie, named Lexi, reminds me so much of my oldest daughter!!!  Created by a super talented artist by the name ofCheryl Alger, she is so much fun to colour.  And I finally decided to break into my stash of Fine and Dandy Tickled Pink paper for a colour combination that I think is anything but wintery (this is one of my favourite paper collections ever)!  I hope the warm, bright colours add a bit of sunshine into the season for the recipient!

I was all over layers on this little card too, so it made sense to fussy cut the stamp and layer her on top of a variety of shapes.  Originally, my inspiration was snowflakes, but I loved the circular patterns on the paper, so I just embraced those instead.  I also found a great shape in the Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge that I thought would make a great backing for the stamp.  All in all, I think the softer shape works well with the colours.

Thank-you snow much dimension

Kraftin Kimmie is actually having another guest designer search for the month of March, and I am throwing my name in the hat with this card!  I also have another couple of projects up my sleeve so don’t forget to pop back soon for another visit!

Oh, and let me know what you think of the colour choices – does it work, or would it have been better with something more…um…expected?

Material List:
Stamp: Kraftin’ Kimmie – Lexi’s Winter Fun
Paper: MME Fine and Dandy Tickled Pink
Colouring Medium: Copics
Die cuts: Cricut Art Philospohy
Embellishments: May Arts Ribbon, BasicGrey brads

13 thoughts on “Thank-you SNOW much!

  1. This ……is….AWESOME!! Love the colors—–it’s a great mix!

    I need more Kimmie stamps..more copics..and I need that cartridge! 🙂

  2. Oh now this one is just too cute!! LOVE your colors, your coloring and your layout… fabulous girl!! So glad you were able to play along with the KKS CHallenge, good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

