The Joy of Christmas

This year, I saw a really cute rosette wreath when I was out and about, and it inspired a bit of an idea.  My MIL is a bit hard to shop for, so I thought I would create a project that would help her remember how much fun grand kids are during the holidays – you know, sugar them up with cookies and candy canes and then send them home!  Her three sets of grandkids are a number of years apart, so I thought it might be cute to have something that shows them all at about the same age:

wreath

wreath-closeup1The rosettes were easy to create.  The key is to make your paper strip 1/2 of the diameter that you would like for your rosette, and make the length 4x the diameter. For instance, if you want a rosette that is 3″ in diameter, cut your strip 1 1/2″ wide by 12 inches long.  I then scored the paper strips every 1/4″ and accordion folded each score line.  With a little help fro the Art Philosophy cartridge (I got mine from a great Close to My Heart consultant named Jo), I embellished the tops, added some pictures, and glued everything onto a wreath base.

wreath-closeup2

All of the papers for this wreath is from the super cute DCWV Evergreen stack!  I love the foil on these sheets – the extra sparkle is perfect for the season!

I know that over the years, my MIL probably has Christmas decorations galore.  I hope this one holds a bit of special meaning – a bit of a reminder of the magic that little ones bring to this season!

Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Christmas

  1. The photo wreath is so cute and imaginative. My husband and I combined have a lot of grandchildren and I would love to try this. I have the Art Philosopy cart as well, are you by chance sharing your cut file for the portion of the wreath,and your awesome banner! Thanks in advance.
    Melinda Strange
    Huntsville, Texas
    csi275@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

