So many things…

…to be thankful for!

This month,the Trendy Twine theme is Many Thanks.  The Design Team is spotlighting Thanksgiving Orange Truffle Trendy Twine, a unique colour combination that is a twist of orange and chocolate brown.

Now, Thanksgiving has come and gone up here in Canada, but this twine colour is fun for so many things.  When I first received this colour, it immediately made me think of twigs, so I decided to try my hand this month at a little twine wreath.

Albeit a little time-consuming, this wreath is so easy to make!

  1. I simply took a 1 1/2″ circle punch and then cut out the middle, leaving a thin 1/4″ wreath shape.  Make sure to use a thick paper for the base of the wreath as you will be pulling on it quite a bit!
  2. I then took a 2″ pieces of twine and looped it through the middle of the wreath, securing with a knot at the top edge of the wreath.
  3. Pull the ends of the twine upwards, and wiggle until the knot lays flat.
  4. Continue around the entire wreath shape.

That’s it!  It took me about an hour to complete this little wreath, but I think the result was well worth it!  It would look great on a card as well, perhaps with a sentiment in the middle!

I decide to use mine to finish off the top of a yummy cupcake box (okay, the box itself was not the yummy part!.  😉  I loved the little peek-a-boo window, and I think the wreath finishes it off nicely!

The pattern for the box was lifted from Stampin’ Gal Val, but I modified the lid a bit by using a 5 7/8″ square as a starting point, and scoring at the 5″ mark all the way around.  I also didn’t have all the tools that Val uses, but with a bit of creativity, the box was really easy to recreate!

So, whether you are getting reading for Thanksgiving, or simply celebrating the last, fleeting moments of fall, break out the Orange Truffle twine!

Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “So many things…

  1. Karen, your wreath is amazing. Love the cupcake box and yes, I wish that cupcake was here and not there 😉 You really know how to twine it up, don’t you?

    Thank you for always being so creative.

    Lesley @ Trendy Twine

Leave a Reply

