I took the challenge!

For each flower, I started by cutting each out from the ribbon strand, and then using some Alcohol Inks to add a bit of dimension into the middle of the flower.  Once that was dry, I added a combination of Distress Stain and Distress Inks to what I wanted to be the “petals” on each bloom.  Once dry, I actually also got out my Copic Markers just to add some highlights down at the base of the petals – they worked so well!  I finally dragged a bit of Distress Ink in Walnut Stain across each to give them a bit of a weathered look.

Once I was finished with the flowers, I tackled the leaves.  These have a bit of a suede feel to them, so I simply used two colours of Alcohol ink, added a few drops to each leaf, and then “smushed” them up (I know, I am so technical), in my hands until the ink covered the whole leaf, front and back.  I then took a Paper Smooches stamp with the word “Thanks” and used a coordinating Distress Ink to stamp the work on each leaf.  I didn’t want the stamp to be too obvious – almost so that from a distance, the leaves would simply look like they had some veins on them.

Finally, I grabbed some white silk ribbon, inked them up and created a few rosettes and a big bow to coordinate with the leaves.  I also used my Copics to do a bit of doodling on the bow.

But, you know it wouldn’t be a true Scrappy Canuck project unless it was interactive, right???  As I was attaching a few of the flowers to the wreath base, I added a circle flip tab underneath to include some of the things I am thankful for.  It you look closely, you will see three flowers that flip-up to reveal a little reflection from me underneath!

Now, I wonder how many brave visitors I will have in my home that will actually try to find the messages!

So there you have it – my entry for this month May Arts Ink It challenge.  I can’t wait to see what everyone else came up with too!

3 thoughts on “I took the challenge!

  1. Karen! This is an awesome wreath!! I love what you did with the branches and the inking of the flowers and leaves!! Just beautiful! I’d like to order on please… 😉

Leave a Reply

