Feeling distressed!!!

Back to school always seems lke a crazy time of year, and my girls are not even in school yet!  Just getting me back into the swing of things is crazy enough – maybe we’ll just keep them home forever (okay, maybe not forever!! ;)).  So, given my state of “distress” right now, it seemed fitting to have a bit of fun distressing some paper.  It’s not my usual style, so I always find it fun and challenging!

I actually teamed up this technique with a beautiful stack that is new for DCWV called Sweet Blossom.  It is really a beautiful stack made up of all sorts of papers that mimic a textured, and slightly “grungy” woven fabric.  Take a look:

I just love these pictures of my youngest gal from last fall!

The page was actually inspired by the saying “Smile, and the whole world will smile with you”, but as I was creating the journaling, I found myself changing up the thought a bit to something a little more subtle! I also decided to run the journaling up the side of one edge – I thought it might be a fun and unexpected addition to the borders!

 These poppy-like flowers were some of my favoutire from the stack, so I decided to fussy cut them so I could also distress a few for added texture.  Now, if you are not a fan of fussy cutting – fear not!  The orginally sheet of paper they are from has the blooms bunched in a corner, so you can easily create a similar effect without having to take out those scissors!  Just layer and go!!!

So that’s it from Scrappy Canuck Studios…for today anyway!  See you soon, and thanks for stopping by!

 

4 thoughts on “Feeling distressed!!!

Leave a Reply

