Somethings old, somethings new, something borrowed and many things blue!

Well, you are probably looking at this little card and thinking – “Hey Scrappy, what on earth does this card have to do with weddings?”  Well, in truth – nothing!  But let me explain!

Something old: The stamp you see on the card is a little gem from Kraftin’ Kimmie.  I have had her for awhile, but quite honestly, I was a little bit afraid to tackle her!  I loved her hair and knew that it would be quite the challenge to colour in a way that made those adorable curls pop off the paper,  So, she sat for a couple of months.  I finally decided that if I was ever going to figure out, I was going to need to practice, so out came the Copics.  For my first try at curls, I think they turned out okay!

Something new: There are actually two new products that I am really excited about that I put to use on this card.  One is a new paper company in town (well, not reallly in my town, but new to the scrappy scene) called Trinity Paper Arts.  I found out about them when CropChocolate featured their product, and this week, their Surf N Swim collection showed up on my doorstep.  I loved the warm and bright papers, and the playful patterns where a create background for goldilocks!

The two colours, together with the white, make this twine, from Trendy Twine pop right off of the card!

My other “new” was the fun twine that you see at the top of the card.  This great product, from a company called Trendy Twine, really caught my attention because of the multiple colour strands.  If you look carefully at both the Blue Berry and Chocolate Truffle twines, you will notice that each has two colour variations (a light and a dark strand) as well as a strand of white.  I was amazed at the dimension this adds to the twine!  And although this little card doesn’t feature the twine, it makes a beautiful detailed accent!  Needless to say, I can’t wait to come up with a couple of projects that DO feature this fun product!

Something borrowed: the layout of the sketch was actually borrowed from the weekly challenge over on the Kraftin’ Kimmie blog, together with a recipe provided for the CropChocolate weekly challenge.

As for the “blue”, I think that one is pretty obvious!

So there you have it – somethings old, new, borrowed and blue – together for one fun card!  I would love to hear what you think!!  Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Somethings old, somethings new, something borrowed and many things blue!

  1. I love the coloring on the KK stamp! Do you have a list of the Copic colors you used? I just started with Copics and trying to figure out how other people blend them.

    • Hi Caryn,
      I am pretty new to Copics too (got mine for Christmas)! Here’s what I used for this gal: Skin – E00, E11, E13 / Dress: B18, B14, B12, YR21, YR31 / Hair – YR31, E18, E34, E39 / Bears – E11, E13, E15, E18
      I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

