I was looking through layouts from the last year…

…And I came across one that I actually created this last summer.  When I checked ScrappyCanuck Studios, I was suprised that I had not shared it with you yet.  So I wanted to take a minute to go back in time a bit and share with you a fun story about this layout:

I spy with my little eye a little bit (okay, a lot) of Glossy Accents! 🙂

For the last five years or so, my husband and I have spent the first weekend in the little town of Armstrong B.C. for an event called the IPE.  This rodeo and fair have everything a country fair should have – horses, a little parade full of tractors and candy throwing, and lots of caramel apples!  One of my favourite parts has always been going to check out the craft and canning displays, so this last year, both my husband I decided to enter.  Now, I have a bit of a confession to make – we actually entered mostly because of the free pass we received for entering as an exhibitor, but I happliy got out my Cricut Walk in My Garden cartridge (I sure love this cartridge – it is so versitile), and my scissors for some fussy cutting (I created and cut out the paper pieces for the scarecrow myself – he happens to be the IPE mascot named “Haystack”), and off I went!   So, this layout was entered into the 8X8 scrapbook layout category that was supposed to utilize the theme for the IPE – “Have a Bloomin’ good time at the IPE.  And just to all of you who create 8X8’s on a regular basis – you are my heros!  I found it so tough to work at this scale!

Well, the day finally came, and off we went to the fair to scour the displays to see if we could find our creations, and maybe, just maybe, find a ribbon attached.  What did I find?  Well, take a look:

My first IPE red ribbon entry! Here it is displayed at the fair! Yahoo!

That’s right – my first IPE red ribbon (and $5.00 in prize winnings on top of the pretty ribbon)!

Now, I have to say that winning at the country fair probably doesn’t compete with some of the experiences you may have had winning design challenges or competitions, but I don’t think I have had anymore fun finding out reults than I did as I hunted through those displays, caramel apple hand, and getting my hands on that ribbon!  It really changed the fair experience for me – I have always really enjoyed going to the IPE, but this year, it felt more like we were part of the event!  I can’t wait to do it again.

Have you ever entered a craft into a country fair?

3 thoughts on “I was looking through layouts from the last year…

Leave a Reply

