In a bit of a funk…

At the beginning of January, I went back to work after 10 months of maternity leave.  I have to say that this has left me in a bit of a funk.  I actually really love my job, and it is amazingly close to home (so close that I actually come home for lunch), but the truth is that I really miss being home – my girls and the daily routine that we had.  So January wasn’t my best month for scrapping!

Then last week I took a look at the most recent Paper Smooches Sparks challenge, and I felt a bit of the creativity brewing again.  In fact, I sat down and did some card sketches and before I knew it, there were 6 on my paper.  I only got around to making three of them this last weekend, but giving the scrappy funk, I think that’s pretty good!

If you’ve never played along with the Sparks challenges, a picture is posted as inspiration and you can go wild from there.  For this challenge, the picture was this bright and cheerful  paper flower arrangement. I loved the texture on the flowers and leaves and the colours just reminded me of something fresh and alive.  So I pulled out my favourite Paper Smooches Vegtastic stamps, and had a little bit of fun with sentiments this time around.

Here’s what “grew” out of this inspiration (okay, I know that was a bad pun, but give a girl a break when she’s in a funk okay!) 😉

This one is my favourite – It turned out better than I had envisioned in the sketch which doesn’t usually happen! 😉

The doodle was meant to mimic the rolled flower – I like the contrast with the “pop” of leaves.  The paper for all of these cards was My Mind’s Eye Quite Contrary Little Boy Blue.  It’s a great collection – and the texture on the paper is great!

I was a bit worried with this one – I don’t usually slap a big bow in the middle of a card.  But I really love how it accents the sentiment and adds a richness to the otherwise simple card.  Oh, and you know I had to add a bit of Glossy Accents to the cute heart stamp!

This sentiment is darling! Love it!

You still have time to get in on the fun at the Sparks challenge!  If you don’t have any Paper Smooches stamps, there are some really great digis available for free too (and they count for the challenge). And since it is “Anything Goes” week at DYSU, I thought I would try my luck there too!

I am off to see if I can get a bit more crafting done this weekend – it’s my sister-in-laws birthday this week and I have  a fun idea up my sleeve for this shutter bugs card!

Hope you are all having a great weekend!

7 thoughts on “In a bit of a funk…

Leave a Reply

