Everyone needs a Christmas tree monster or two!

Tell me that these little monsters don’t make you smile!

Every once in a while, I come across a paper company that makes me smile!

This summer, I was introduced to Nikki Sivils while reading about the new releases at CHA.  One of the company’s new lines, called My Lil’ Monster immediately made me think of my own two little gals, who I often affectionately refer to as “monsters” when they get into some of their curiosity-driven mischief.  The playful designs and unique colour combinations of this collection had me smiling and thinking of all sorts of projects I could create for my own lil’ monsters.  And today, I have the first project to share with you!

These little ornaments are a simple way to add a little bit of fun to your Christmas tree!  Afterall, is a Christmas tree complete without a monster or two? Here’s how:

This paper was the perfect choice for ornaments for my own lil' monsters!

Materials:

Instructions:

  1. Cut your 12X12 paper into 11 strips in the following widths (one of each): 3″, 2 3/4″, 2 1/2″, 2 1/4″, 2″, 1 3/4″, 1 1/2″, 1 1/4″, 1″, 3/4″, 1/2″.
  2. Cut your twine or ribbon to 8″ and fold in half.
  3. Take your widest 3″ strip and center the twine or ribbon at one end so you have 1″ sticking out the top and bottom. Tightly roll the paper around the ribbon. Apply some adhesive to the end of the roll to keep the paper in place.
  4. Take the 2 3/4″ strip and center it over the finished roll from.  Apply a small amount of adhesive to keep the strip centered on the roll. Tightly wrap the new strip over the finished roll. Apply adhesive at the end to the roll to keep the paper in place.
  5. Repeat for each of the remaining strips.
  6. Embellish as you wish. I added a cute burlap button to the top of the ornament, and some googlie eyes to one of the monsters that I wanted to feature (I used a different monster for each of my girls – there are lots to choose from, and I found one for each that seemed to suit their personality). I also added some glossy accents to the featured monster, and on to some of the rolls to add a little shine. Finally, I added some cute little pearls using Buttercup Liquid Pearls.

It’s really that easy!  Your ornaments can be as simple or intricate as your imagination allows – just have some fun with paper and glue!

I’ll be back later this week with another cute and simple project I created with this collection. In the meantime, I would love to hear about paper collections that make you smile! You know I love hearing from you!

P.S. – For those of you coming over from Facebook today (Dec. 23rd) – thank-you for coming by!  I would love to know who has sent you all over!  Leave me a comment to let me know so I can send my thanks!

UPDATE: Yahoo!  This craft was featured over at CraftGossip.com!  Check it out!

Make sure to check out these other Nikki Sivils themed projects – Bookmarks / Get Well Double Slider card

5 thoughts on “Everyone needs a Christmas tree monster or two!

  1. I love these! It’s too late for this year, but next year my plan is to decorate the tree exclusively with paper ornaments. So I’m hanging on to this tutorial until then. (I also added it to random-tutorial.com) Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Peek-A-? | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

  3. Pingback: A quick stocking stuffer idea! | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

  4. Pingback: Tutorial | Monster Ornaments · Scrapbooking | CraftGossip.com

Leave a Reply

