The Fairy and the Dragon

So, a few weeks ago, I jumped on the MME Lush bandwagon and ordered the brown, pink and green lines from my favourite DD site CropChocolate.   When they arrived, I was a bit disappointed.  The colours were more muted than I was expecting.  I managed to use the brown line awhile back for a frame for my hubby, but I wasn’t sure that the other two packs would make their Scrappy Canuck debut anytime soon.  But I was wrong…

Once upon a time...

So here’s the story behind this story…as part of the CropChocolate focus group, we get a monthly challenge.  For this month, Paula Maclane came up with a great inspirational collage for us – we just had to use at least 75% of products that we have purchased from CC. The dandelion in the collage reminded me of the Lush paper, and the paper reminded me of this little photo of my two-year old fairy!  So together, this little page was born.

A little bit of Distress Ink and Crackle Accents in there too!

It actually looks complicated, but all I had to do was cut out the flocked flowers from this great paper and then just layer them up a bit.  It was time consuming, but the effect of the garden growing from the bottom was perfect for the picture (and so I kept telling myself as I continued to cut, and cut and cut and cut and cut…).  Other than that, these coordinating papers made it so easy to come up with something that really looks pretty!  It’s a bit different from my usual bright and bold, but who says an old dog can’t learn new tricks! 😉

Hidden behind the photo is a little journaling tag that can be pulled out.  It has a little story about a little fairy that met a sad dragon hiding in her garden.

It was fun to do something a little bit different, and use up product I thought wasn’t really “me”.  In the end, the page makes me smile.  So no more complaints from me! 🙂

10 thoughts on “The Fairy and the Dragon

  1. I think it’s just beautiful! I love the green with the pink. I too ordered the lush only in orange, navy and turquoise. Alot of the navy, which is almost black. I didn’t realize how heavily flocked it was. Now I am not sure what I am going to do with it all!

    • Hey Dawn, I wasn’t sure about the flocking at first either, but I really like it on the lush stuff for home decor projects. I used some of the brown to cover cardstock for a frame, and the effect was almost like material or leather. I have the navy too and I think I will try some sort of patchwork effect on an altered item!

  2. This layout is amazing and I love it! Super cute, and I love all the layered flowers. And the hidden journaling is fantastic, I’m going to have to try that.

    • Brit – the hidden journaling is really fun! My DH and I just worked on a mechanism that I am going to try on the next layout – I’ll post a tutorial – so it doesn’t pull all the way out and is easy to slide back in! Thanks for commenting.

  3. I love this LO! I love the fact that everyone at CC puts forth “challenges” and makes us think outside the box or do things we normally wouldn’t have done. It was definitely worth the effort! 🙂

Leave a Reply

