A little caffeine fix

So, here’s the thing – we recently attended the wedding of a couple of friends, and we were struggling a bit with what to buy for them.  I decided that maybe it would be fun to make them something, but I wasn’t sure what might be appropriate for a homemade wedding gift.  I had a look at their gift registry (which no one seemed to purchase from…so weird), and realized they had selected a number of frames.  “Ah-ha,” I thought! “A frame I can do”.

But then there came the “style” struggle.  How could I embellish it in a way that was meaningful for them as a couple, and yet still appropriate (the groom has a bit of a questionable sense of humour…I’ll leave it at that).  One of the things that stuck out in my mind was that Starbucks held meaning for the two of them – they had their first date there, and the groom had actually proposed to the bride by having the Starbucks employees write the question up on the menu board.  So, I put my crafty thinking cap on, and realized that I just might be able to use this caffeine addiction for the frame in a neat way.  So, after a trip to my local Starbucks and a bit of crafting time, here’s what I came up with:

All parts of the flowers are made from the hot beverage containers, and the leaves were made from the clear beverage containers (making sure to include the logo for colour).  I used the “hole plugging thing-a-majigs” to add a bit of dimension, and a clear lid to prop up the flowers a bit on the bottom of the frame.  

So, what do you think?  The bride and groom seemed to really like the frame, and I guess in the end, that’s what really matters, right?

Have you ever made a home-made gift for a wedding?  How was it received?

11 thoughts on “A little caffeine fix

  1. Okay, that’s pretty genius!! I have never made a homemade gift for a wedding but received plenty when we got married. My absolute favorite thing we got was a handmade quilt from hubby’s grandmother!

    • Well Jasmine, I’m not sure anyone has ever called one of my ideas genius before! 🙂 I can imagine the quilt is pretty special – both of my girls received one when they were born, and they are so special to us! I think I really need to make more of my gifts!

  2. Wow, that is amazing. What a great a idea and gift. I’ve made card holders for the gift cards I give at weddings but never a gift.

    • Oh Sherri – that is a great idea. I always feel a bit bad about giving a gift card (even if that’s what the receiver wants) because they seem impersonal. But with a hand-made card holder – it’s the best of both worlds!

  3. I love it! I’m sure they adore it since you gave them a gift that considers their history with Starbucks. IMO those are the best gifts.

  4. Wow, this is a great idea and I may have to scraplift something like this as a present to my husband. He loves his Starbucks! I made a scrapbook once for a couple. Took a long time since I’m used to making baby scrapbooks…

Leave a Reply

