My Pink Stamper – Design Team Call

Have you heard the news? There are spots open for a 6 month term on Robyn’s My Pink Stamper Design Team.  I first came across Robyn on the Cricut message board back when I first started playing with my E!  Her tutorials and explanations were always clear and concise, and she always made really stunning projects out of fun colours that totally showcased the cartridge designs.   So, when I decided to try out for her team, that was exactly what I wanted to try to do too!

The challenge was this: create a card, layout or Cricut project with your favourite cartridge, using the following colours:

  • Orange
  • Turquoise
  • Green
  • Brown
  • other optional color of your choice – I chose PINK of course!

So, with that in mind, I grabbed my new favourite cartridge – “Walk in My Garden“, and some bright and beautiful Bazzill Basics Paper.  Here’s the result…

"Flower Punch" card - What do you think???

All you will need is the following:

  • Bazzill Basics “Two Scoops” Paper in Prickly Pear, Pumpkin Pie, Very Berry, Sprinkles and Rocky Road (YUMMY!!!)
  • Walk in My Garden Cricut Cartridge
  • Celebrate It Basic Narrows ribbon in brown
  • Some adhesive and Glossy Accents for a little extra punch on the Punch! 😉
  • OPTIONAL – Ink to distress edges of cuts

Step 1

Step 1 - First cuts

Using your Prickly Pear paper, cut key 3-7 <grass> at 4″.  Switch to the Rocky Road paper, and cut key 3-7 <shift><grass>.  Glue the brown on top of the green paper.

So here’s the optional step – if you would like, apply a bit of ink to the edges (I love the Tim Holtz Distress ink in Walnut Stain”)

Step 2

Step 2 - Cut your flowers

Using Prickly Pear again, cut keys 2-4 <hycnth>, 2-5 <iris>, and 2-8 <tulip> at 3 1/2″.  These will create the stem, leaves and base for your flowers.  Switch paper to Very Berry and cut key <shift>2-4<hycnth>.  Grab the Sprinkles coloured paper and cut key <shift>2-5<iris>.  Finally, using the Pumpkin Pie paper, cut key <shift>2-8<tulip>.

Glue the blooms onto the green base.  And if you would like, ink up those edges for a little more dimension.

Step 3 & 4

Step 3 & 4 - Start assembly

Start assembling your card by gluing on your green/brown frames onto your background paper – in this case, Rocky Road.  Tie your brown ribbon around the paper and then glue onto your card base! For this base, I cut some of the Prickly Pear paper to match my white card base (5 X 6 1/2″).

Step 5

Step 5 - Glue on your flowers and embellish with GA

You’re almost done!  Simply glue on your beautiful flowers, embellish with a bit of Glossy accents on the blooms, and you are all set.  I actually went back and added a bit of faux stitching to the frames just to add a bit of finishing to the edges (just with a simple brown pen)!

I have to admit that I love to use patterned paper!  But the texture of the Bazzill paper together with the bright colours gives this simple card a really bright and fun punch! However, the true test came when my DH walked into the room when I was working on the card.  He stopped dead in his tracks when he saw the card, and said with true excitement in his voice, “Wow – that looks great!”  Now I have to say that he is always my number one fan, but I I don’t usually get that kind of reaction!

So here’s what I need from you – leave some love in the comments below to help me convince Robyn that I’d be just the gal she is looking for on her team!!  If nothing else, let me know what you think about this little card!  You know I always love to hear from you!

Thanks for stopping by!

19 thoughts on “My Pink Stamper – Design Team Call

Leave a Reply

