I might just be “Bruined”

Okay – here’s the thing.  My brother has been a Boston Bruins fan for as long as I can remember.  As a proud Canadian, I cannot fathom why he would cheer for a team south of the border (not that there is anything wrong with my friends to the south, it’s just that our teams up here need all the support they can get), but he has been as a loyal a fan as one can be.

So when the Stanley Cup finals came down to the Vancouver Canucks and the Boston Bruins last month, it was a real showdown in the family.  But as game 7 approached, even this proud Canadian had to hope a bit (and I do mean a bit) that the Bruins might take the cup.  Why?  Because the final game of the cup happened to be on my brother’s birthday! And all national loyalties aside, it was pretty cool to think they could win it on his special day.

I really must love my brother!

Well, as fate would have it, they did.  So to help commemorate the day for him, I decided to make him a Bruin’s themed card.

It was painful, and at the risk of being “Bruined” by sharing this card with you, I did want to post a picture for you all because I used a technique I showcased on my blog last week to accentuate the letters on the front.  Do you see the pretty, shiny letters?!  Yup – GA!  I think its a great technique to use with monochromatic layouts and cards – just a little bit of something to make them pop.

And as for the jersey, I hand pieced that one together, using a picture as a guide.  The “B” was cut from the Plantin Schoolbook cartridge, with a bit of a modification to make the letter more angular.  Other than that, lots of little pieces cut by hand (that we are still finding all over the house!) 😉

I hate to say it, but I am really happy with the way it turned out.  And anyway, the Canuck’s jersey would have been so much harder to do!

8 thoughts on “I might just be “Bruined”

  1. I think you went above and beyond! Very nice touch, knowing how some sports fans are… I think you did great! and I LOVE that you hand made the jersey ^_^ I can’t wait ot get a scrappy space put together… I’m coming by then for some inspiration!

Leave a Reply

