Happy Canada Day!

Welcome to our first ever CropChocolate unofficial blog hop!  What better way to celebrate Canada Day (well, besides a great BBQ)!

CC Unofficial Blog Hop - Blog Candy

Jasmine's Blog Candy - don't forget to leave a comment!

If you have arrived here after visiting all of the posts – congratulations!  You’ve made it to the end.  If you just happened to stop by this post, make sure you go back and start at the beginning of this fun hop with Jasmine’s amazing post.  Why?  Well, because I said so <she says in her mother’s voice.  ugh…scary!>.  If that isn’t enough of a reason, Jasmine has donated some great blog candy that we will give away randomly to one lucky person who takes the train for a full ride and leaves a comment at each stop!  So if you need to, visit Jasmine’s blog here!

So, now that the official business on this unofficial blog hop is taken care of, I wanted to share a little tip for you all.  Earlier this week, I posted a message about my new addiction – Glossy Accents.  I think I promised you a video with a tip on how you can use the product to make letters for titles on layouts or cards pop.  Well, due to some technical difficulties (and by technical, I mean a dead battery on the video camera ;)), the video is out for today!  But I still did want to share the tip so I pulled out my trusty camera (which also has a dying battery I might add), to take you through the steps.

Step 1  – Cut out letter

Step 1 - Letter Cutout

Step 1 - Opposites Attract letter cut out at 3/4" on Bazzill Basics "Rain" paper

Step 1 is really that easy!  Just get yourself a letter that has been cut out of paper in whatever way you can.

Step 2 – Ink Edges (optional)

Step 2 - Ink edges of letter

Step 2 - Ink edges of letter

This is an optional step, but adds a nice dimension to the letter.  Just take some water based ink (I used the Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Broken China), and ink up the edges by either using an applicator or simply running the ink pad along the edges of the letter.  I like to use a water-based ink for this step so the ink bleeds a bit when I add the Glossy Accents.  Speaking of adding the Glossy Accents…

Step 3 – Add Glossy Accents

Step 3 - Add Glossy Accents to top surface of letter

Step 3 - Add Glossy Accents to top surface of letter

For this step, I actually start by placing the letter down on a Cricut mat.  These mats are sticky and allow me to place the letter down in one spot and apply the Glossy Accents without having to handle it with my fingers.  Having said that, it never saves me from getting the stuff on my fingers, but it does prevent me from leaving fingerprints on the letters!  Using the great applicator tip, just squeeze out the Glossy Accents and rub onto the surface of your letter (your applicator tip might get clogged, but just use a pin to get the medium flowing).  Feel free to add a thick coat – it dries pretty quickly and it will give you letter a really great domed effect.  Oh, and once it is dry, you can actually add another layer on top for even more dimension!  The GA will go on cloudy, but will dry completely clear and shiny!

Step 4 – Wait patiently for your letter to dry

The before and after shot

The before and after shot

This isn’t the greatest picture (I was trying to capture the shine and dimension for you), but you can see the difference in the two letters.  The great thing about this technique is you can use it on titles you might already have down on a page if they seem to be fading off into the background paper (minus the inking of the edges) and the letters will pop right off the page!

So that’s it for my tip today, and for our first unofficial CC blog hop today – I hope you were inspired along the way! Remember to leave a comment below – we will announce our winner on July 4th (just to add to the excitement for our Southern friends). Oh, and don’t be sad; there is more fun to be had tomorrow!  Make sure to visit again for more great projects from our CC friends, and even some more blog candy!

58 thoughts on “Happy Canada Day!

  1. Thank you for your “tutorial”. I haven’t had the desire to check this out but may in the future now.
    I have enjoyed the “hop”!

    Ellen from cc

    elliemaeshopping(at)comcast(dot)net

  2. Oh my I love the glossy accents and what they can achieve – I had never heard of it before but will now be on the lookout for it!! I love how you explain your technique so well that I feel I could do it by myself now – thanks so much for introducing me to something so fun!!

  3. Love using it on lettering too, and adding more to get a nice thick build up, making my own epoxy type images….great tutorials this weekend on both days!

  4. Glossy accents is one of my favs too!! Love how you used it. What a great blog….I will be back to check it out some more. Thanks for sharing~

  5. I love Glossy Accents too! It’s amazing what it can do to a plain-jane diecut! I have really enjoyed this blog hopm- it has been so much fun to visit everone’s blog and see all the wonderful projects and ideas! Thanks ladies for putting this all together!

Leave a Reply

