Rejected – I need a hug!

So, about a month ago, Paper Crafts Magazine had a call for masculine cards.  Two of the companies that I design for encouraged us to submit, so I got on my crafty bandwagon and went to work.  Now, I need to let you know that I have never had luck with PaperCrafts magazine in the past, but it is important to me to promote the companies I design for so I gave it a go again.  Here are a few of the cards that I created!

Charming-fullCharming-angled

For this card, I used one of my favourite DCWV stacks called Sunday Afternoon.  This stack is filled with fun patterns in great, playful colours.  And the best part is that is has all sorts of shapes that can be cut out for embellishments.  This was a super fast CAS card, and the only materials I used besides the paper were some Liquid Pearls and a bit of Trendy Twine.

Dad-fullDad-dimension

For this card, I got out the My Sunshine stack and played with the alphabet sheet.  On this piece of patterned paper, there are all sorts of stamped letters – some in a bold, darb blue colour.  I decided to isolate those darker colours to spell the work “dad” simply by cutting them out and then matting them on white cardstock.  This is an effect you could also get if you have some alphabet stamps and different coloured inks.  I used some of the Cork adhesive sheets in the background for some extra texture, and then just a bit of Liquid Pearl in the corners.
Loved-angled Loved-full

I love this one – this card was also made with the My Sunshine Stack from DCWV (and a bit of the adhesive cork too – this stuff is great)!  I simply cut the main sentiment from one of the sheets in the stack, added some Distress Ink and Trendy Twine, and then added the handwritten word “unconditionally” to the bottom, making sure to line up the patterns in the paper.  I just love the message in this one…I can’t wait to give it away!

Well, I didn’t have any more luck this time than I have had in the past.  Man, sometimes it is really hard to apply to magazine calls and design teams and get those “no thanks” messages.  But I hope that somewhere in here, you will find a bit of inspiration that will encourage you to try something different, or just scraplift a sketch or design idea.  Get carfting people – it will make me feel better! ;)

Thanks for stopping by!

66 thoughts on “Rejected – I need a hug!

  1. Your work is wonderful Karen! I have found some great inspiration! Please don’t be discouraged by the “no thanks” it can be really hard to hear, but there is a plan, purpose and timing to everything! May you continue to share your talents with all of us whether you are “published soon” or not (note: I said soon as I think it is only a matter of time :-) ) Blessings to you!
    -Melin

  2. Hello Karen! I can totally rely to the feeling, I have submited my work to PCM and have not even gotten a “no thank yo msg :(“… but as most commentors here have expressed your work is wonderful and should not be discouraged by situations like this… Your time will come too be published, and it will be at the right time, so keep on crafting :) we do appreciate you sharing your work!!

    crafty cyber hugs :)

    • Liz. . . due to the huge volume of projects submitted to Paper Crafts calls, the editors only send out emails for those cards that are requested for publication. Try not to be discouraged though!!!! Keep submitting!!!! :)

  3. Pingback: Take risks | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

  4. I don’t make cards, but if I was going to start, I’d copy your work. Your cards are beautiful. I don’t understand why they were rejected. Maybe they’re too good? They look too professional? I don’t know what they’re looking for, but as far as I’m concerned, they missed the boat on your cards. I especially love the “You are loved” card. They may not love your cards, but I sure do. Don’t give up. Keep submitting. Hopefully they’ll come to their senses and publish you.

Leave a Reply

