Trying something new!

This week, the challenge over at CropChocolate was completely open – we could do whatever we wanted to do!  I used this as an opportunity to kill two birds with one stone and get in on the Kraftin’ Kimmie challenge this week too!  It’s been awhile since I’ve been able to do some colouring, and there are no stamps that are more fun to colour than KK stamps!!  So yesterday, I grabbed my Copics and the super cute Goldilocks stamp, and had some fun!

Echo Park’s So Happy Together collection was perfect for this little gal and her friends!

I also thought this would be a great chance to try something new, so I thought I would tackle paper piecing Goldi’s skirt.  If you have never paper pieced with a stamp before, it is really easy!

  • Simply start by stamping your image once onto your colouring paper, and decide which parts of the image will be pieced.  Colour your image as desired. This will be your base stamped image.

    From this angle, you can see the layers on her skirt how the bows actually stick out from her hair!

  • Stamp the image again onto patterned paper (for this little gal, I actually used two different patterned papers so I stamped her 3 times).
  • Then, use some great scissors to fussy cut the shapes from the patterned paper that you would like to adhere onto the black and white image.  For Goldi, I cut out each of the diamonds and partial diamonds as well as the bow for her hair.
  • Glue the patterned paper shapes on to the base stamped image.

Goldilocks and her three bears! I love this stamp!

For this little gal, I also wanted the bows in her hair to sick up a bit, so I only glued down the centre to create more dimension.  However, this also meant that I had to colour a bit behind the paper piecing so you wouldn’t see white.  I also wanted to create a bit more depth on the layers of her skirt, so ended up cutting and paper piecing the ruffle at the bottom edge of her skirt, and then layering them under her skirt, but over top of her bloomers.  I love the effect –  the truth is that you can create the effect with colouring shadows, but I love that this adds a bit of texture to the card as well!

If you haven’t tried paper piecing a stamp before – GO FOR IT!  It was a bit of work for this gal, but I think it was worth it!  What do you think?

10 thoughts on “Trying something new!

  1. So very cute! Although I have several dozens and dozens of Copics, I haven’t used them in awhile. Seeing this makes me want get them out again . . . but 1st I “need” some of the KK stamps. :)

  2. AAACK!!!! This is so freakin’ ADORABLE!!!! I love love love this and your coloring is fantastic! I’m so glad you played along with us at Kraftin’ Kimmie and hope you join us again soon! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

