A Few of My Favourite Things!

If there is anything you need to know about me, it is that I love chocolate.  Dark, milk, and even white (if I am in a pinch), chocolate is definitely one of my favourite things!

But truth be told – it is not the top of my list!  So, when I set out to use a wooden chocolate kiss shape as the foundation for a mini-album, I knew exactly which favourite things I did want to feature – my little family!  So out came the camera, a bit of lipstick, and with a bit of convincing, my models let me take their pictures with bright kisses on each of their cheeks!

Let me back up for a minute – this piece was actually part of a CropChocolate challenge, and I wasn’t too excited about the project right off the bat!  I really wasn;t sure what I was going to do with the wooden kiss, but as part of the DT, I wanted to be supportive of the challenge.  So, with some creative consulting with my hubby (the man is really creative – he really puts my craftiness to shame…but don’t tell him I said that), we decided to break out of the mold (literally), cut the wooden kiss in half, carve out portions to add a brass heart and turn it into a mini album…so how did we do?

Here’s a bit of a step-by-step of how the project took shape

This is my oldest daughter – she even did a kissy face for me!

 

…and this is the little one!

And of course…the brains behind the operation! Each picture has a hidden journaling pocket too!

Crate Paper’s Cottage collection was a fun choice for this chocolate inspired project!

Now, I have to tell you that we didn’t win the challenge, which was a bit heart breaking because there was a Cameo up for grabs! ;)  But this is a project that I am really proud of for two reasons – the first is because I think we really did create something unexpected and beautiful.  More importantly though, this is a project that was really team effort for my family - we created it together!  So in the end, it is a project that not only celebrates my favourite things, but it also helped me to build more memories with them!  Cameo or not, I don`t think there can be any loosing here!

Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “A Few of My Favourite Things!

  1. when I 1st saw this on cropchocolate, I thought it was truly inspired brilliance! I love all your work, you are so talented; knowing now what went on behind it and the parts each of your family played in creating it, just confirms all that!

  2. This was such a great idea! I did a kiss too but when I saw yours I thought “Oh that is too clever! She’s definitely won!” You are always so great at thinking out of the box and you come up with things that I never would have thought of!

Leave a Reply

