Crazy for quotes!

Inspired by (and made with) Fancy Pants’ Be You collection

Last Sunday was Mother’s Day, and I hope you all had a great day either celebrating moms or celebrating being a mom (or maybe both)!  If you stop by SCRaPPY CaNuCK StuDioS often, you will already know that my two little gals are the inspiration for many of my crafty projects.  In fact, it was only after the birth of my first daughter that I really started to explore scrapbooking, and in doing so, found a huge papercrafting community!  My love of crafting has really grown in the last two and half years, and quite frankly – so has my scrappy stash!

In honor of being a mom to two amazing, funny and super creative little girls, I thought I would share with you a project I recently created for them.  A few weeks ago, I came across a collection from Fancy Pants called “Be You”.  When I saw it, I immediately thought of my little gals and some of my favourite quotes and inspirational sayings that I hope to share with them as they get older.  I thought it might be fun to create a little keepsake box for them – a place where I could share some of my favourite “words of wisdom”, and a place where they could collect some of their own – maybe even cards and letters from me!  So I grabbed a plain box, pulled out some of the beautiful Be You paper and some Distress Ink, pulled out my trusty rolled paper flowers (these are still my favourite paper flower shape), and got to work!

My first step was to cover the box (just a plain paper box I picked up at the craft store), and then create all the letters with my Cricut.  I used a variety of cartridges including Plantin Schoolbook, and the font from Birthday Bash).  I recently received a Gypsy for my birthday, and this helped so much in determining size and layout (don’t be afraid to try it without a Gypsy though)!  I picked some words that I thought were important, and included the “BE YOU” that actually inspired the project in the first place.  All of the letters were smothered in Glossy Accents (yes, the obsession with the product is still alive), and then it was on to the blooms!

These rolled roses are my “go to” flower shape!  I just love the depth and texture they have, and although I don’t think they look “real”,  I think they mimic the shape without looking “cutsie” (not that I don’t like cutsie – have you seen my projects lately???).  If you are looking for a tutorial, I did post one back in the fall, so go and take a look!

The last step was the creation of the journaling cards to hold the quotes that I wanted to include for the girls.  This was really easy because the collection already has journaling cards that you can just cut apart.  I mounted each one on a bit if paper and embellished them in different ways – some with layered flowers, some with some faux stitching and others with Glossy Accents ;)!  I added some of the quotes I already had in mind, and then left some blank to use at a later date.  I used the back to write a little message about why I liked the quote too!

So that’s it!  A fun and easy project that I think, in year’s to come, will be something special I can look through with the girls.  Oh, and I am always on the lookout for inspiring quotes, so if you have some, I would love it if you would share your favourites in the comments!

Inspired by (and made with) Fancy Pants’ Be You collection

Thanks for stopping by!

4 thoughts on “Crazy for quotes!

  1. Pingback: Show and Tell | Quotation Memory Box · Scrapbooking | CraftGossip.com

Leave a Reply

