All the scrapping this last weekend paid off!

A little bit of EP Springtime paper, some Doodlebug buttons and some Trendy Twine (Lime Twist).

A little card I entered into an Echo Park challenge found it’s way to the winner’s circle! This little card was actually inspired by three challenges much like the layout I posted earlier this week.  The first was a design challenge at CropChocolate in which we were challenged to create a shape with buttons.  The second was a challenge at Scrapbook and Cards Today – for a card with rounded corners.  The third was the challenge at EP – take some inspiration from one of their free pdf project ideas.  My inspiration was a  a window card  – an idea that I have never tried before.  But given some cute Doodlebug buttons and some great Trendy Twine (in Lime Twist), I thought this might be a fun technique to make my own!

The shapes on this card were actually cut out with A Walk in My Garden Cricut cartridge.  Instead of using the shape what was cut by my Cricut, I used the negative space left behind.  I simply rounded the corners of the Echo Park Springtime paper, and then placed it down on top of my backing paper – in this case, some Bazzill cardstock (Admiral).  I traced the shape of the flowers onto the backing paper and then covered the petal portion with the buttons.  Just a note – if you are using buttons, carefully consider the size of your windows – in this case, the flowers were quite narrow, so finding the best placement for the buttons was a bit of a challenge.  Finally, I wrapped the leaf shapes that were cut out with the great twine (more to come on this technique in a week or so – perhaps a tutorial!!!), rounded some more edges and glued everything together!  I love the way it turned out – it’s playful, fun and bright!  And I think it will make a great Mother’s Day card!

 

So, are you ready to try a window card?

 

8 thoughts on “All the scrapping this last weekend paid off!

  1. This card is really beautiful!!! Very impressive. So is there a big space between the polka dot layer and the navy cardstock? P.S. Saw your flower card on SC&T today and found your site by the watermark on your photo. :)

    • Laurel, it is about the thickness of a button. In fact the polka dot layer sits right on top of the buttons so it is up about a 1/4″ or so (maybe not even that much). Ijust used some thicker foam adhesive on the corners and everything fell into place (don’t you love it when that happens?!). Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment! So glad you found me!!

  2. Pingback: Celebrate Good Times! | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

Leave a Reply

