I have a NSD hangover!

Yes, it’s true!  I am not afraid to admit it!  I have a National Scrapbooking Day hangover.  Seven projects in two days and I am beat!  Now, I know many of you are saying, “What’s with her?? I can crank out that many layouts or cards in a day.”  You will have to let me in on your secrets of survival, because I think I am just getting too old for that kind of crafting! ;)

The good news is that I have a bunch of fun projects to share with you in the next couple of weeks.  As I mentioned on Saturday, my home base for NSD was CropChocolate.  If you haven’t been by CC for awhile, you should pop by!  They released some exciting news last week about a merger with Oh My Crafts, so there have been many contests and giveaways on top of the challenges.

One of the projects I managed to finish was for the “Wedding Colours” challenge.  When I got married, our main colour was purple, and this was a perfect match with some photos I recently had taken of my youngest daughter!  I teamed up this challenge with a sketch challenge from Echo Park, and this was the result:

This is the Little Girl collection from EP – one of my favourites! The twine is from Trendy Twine (Grape Fizz – yum!)

I had so much fun embellishing this layout!  From hand stitching on the circles, to a row of pennants, to a Glossy Accents title, and even an embellished straight pin inspired by a Scrapbook and Cards Today Challenge, this layout had me fiddling for many hours (probably too many given the deadlines for the challenges – but so worth it)!  Take a look:

I had some fun adding some hand stitching to these circles.

I simply added a little bow made from twine to embellish this cute Making Memories pin. It was an easy way to coordinate this embellishment with the rest of the project!

And of course, some popular pennants for a bit of texture!

But, my favourite part is….you guessed it – an interactive element.  Hidden behind the large picture is a hidden journaling tab.  Pull up….

Oh, and there is even a little surprise hiding behind that big photo! Here’s a peak!

Yup – there it is – keep going…

Here is the hidden journaling tab pulled out completely.

…and the rest of the title, another picture and a spot for journaling is revealed! I think it does justice to my little one’s “cuteness”!  What do you think??

9 thoughts on “I have a NSD hangover!

  1. love this! But how could it not be great? Great subject matter. If you use a page protector, how do you access the interactives?

    • Hi Laura – that is a really good question. For this one, I will use a sharp craft knife to cut a single slit right where the top of the picture is. At that point, I will place the page in the protector and then pop the pull tab out through the slit so it sits on top of the protector. That way, when the tab is pulled, it actually slides out and sits on top of the protector. I hope that makes sense! I’ll have to post a picture!

  2. Pingback: All the scrapping this last weekend paid off! | SCRaPPY CaNuCK STuDioS

Leave a Reply

