Happy Birthday little one!

My youngest daughter turned 1 this weekend, and it was quite the weekend!  For those of you who don’t know anything about this little gal, here’s a picture that sums her up pretty well:

Here she is after crawling under the kitchen table and getting into my crafty supplies. And as you can see, she is pretty proud of herself! ;)

Based on that picture, I’m sure you can imagine that she was a lot of fun to use as an inspiration!  So this week, in honour of her first birthday, I thought I would share some of the crafty creations that were invited to the party.

Bopping back and forth...

Our littlest has already fallen in love with giraffes.  She has a couple of small stuffies that make her light up, so we thought it would be fun to use giraffes as a theme for her celebration!  So, first up - a little card…well, actually, the card isn’t that little! :)   The giraffe that I paper pieced was a little larger than I had planned, but she still fit onto a folded 8 1/2″ X 11″ piece of cardstock!  Phew!

Made with Echo Park Sweet Springtime and Dots and Stripes paper, this cute friend actually has a head that swings back and forth! I love the colours on this card because they remind me so much of our birthday girl – sunny and bright!

...and back and forth...

I created the giraffe and bird by paper piecing a design I created, and the coloured a bit with my new Copics.  The leaves were cut out with my Cricut (Create a Critter cartridge), and the flowers were actually fussy cut from the Echo Park Springtime collection.  A few accents were added with Liquid Pearls and some simple doodling, and together with some twine and some distress ink, this card made it off of the creation block just in time for celebration time!

Most important, you know I love my interactive elements on cards, so I had my hubby help me to modify the standard spinner card to a mechanism that I found reacted more consistently and appropriately for this head shape.  He’s a wizz with this kind of thing, and I am so glad I can bounce ideas off of him!  He helps to make my cards do exactly what I want them to do!

...and back and forth! This giraffe has rhythm!

Want to know how you can make one too???  Sorry – today is just a tease! ;)    But I promise to come back tomorrow and share the whole tutorial with you!

Happy Birthday sweet girl!  We are so lucky to have you in our lives!  This cute giraffe has nothing on you!